J500 Media and the Environment


$625.80 WELL SPENT by shemme
April 29, 2008, 10:51 pm
Filed under: Society + Media | Tags: , , , , ,

I’d much rather spend my tuition dollars on a class like “Media & The Environment” – awesome guests, amazing field trips, free online readings, no exams – than the typical course where we listen to the same person lecture each time, nobody ever talks or shares opinions/ideas, you have to buy some big expensive textbook that you never read other than right before the exams, and you never really learn much about anyone else taking the class. I think this class was a truly worthwhile investment of both time and money.


I learned that there isn’t ONE solution just waiting for us to discover it. Nobody has all the answers – environmental issues are just too big and complex. However, there are a lot of little solutions that can be implemented in different ways that overall will have great impact. The future of humanity and the Earth will depend on every individual, world government, and business leader doing their part. Nobody is exempt; waiting around for someone else to find that ONE solution, for someone else to invent a technological fix, for someone else to figure out what to do with YOUR garbage … it won’t work. We all have to do our part, and we have to act now.

I learned that blogging can play a role in the communication of important issues and that bloggers can be a reliable information source (but be careful). I had never read a blog before this class, much less written for one. I always thought, “Who the hell are these bloggers? Who has time to blog? Don’t these people have real jobs?” Now I know the answer is that they’re people, just like me, who are passionate and have something to say. They squeeze blogging into their lives because they care and yes, most have ‘real’ jobs because blogging (in most cases) provides little to no income. (Suprise!)

I also learned that the frame in which I understand climate change and in which I make my daily choices is mine and may not make sense to anyone other than myself. Everyone has different values, different ideas, different priorities and agendas, different lenses through which they view the world – everyone is just different. We must consider these differences when framing environmental issues and make sure that the message is relevant to the audience that we are communicating with. Frame, re-frame, re-frame again and keep on keepin’ on. There will always be one more person down the road who’s just a little bit different from the last…

Anyway, I’ve learned more than what I’ve written here, but some of it is still digesting. I really enjoyed getting to know everyone in the class – some a little more than others and others maybe a bit too much – but it was always fun and interesting to hear what everyone was thinking. Thank you so much for giving me the opportunity to learn from y’all – hope to see some of you around this summer!

~ Sarah H

add to del.icio.us : Add to Blinkslist : add to furl : Digg it : add to ma.gnolia : Stumble It! : add to simpy : seed the vine : : : TailRank : post to facebook



I took this class because Simran was on Oprah by Chardonnay
April 29, 2008, 9:24 pm
Filed under: Society + Media | Tags: , , , , , , ,

I first met Simran at a poetry reading. She was wearing a wig and a smile and mentioned her course on the environment. When she walked away, something happened that I’m sure is far more common than Simran would guess. My girlfriend leaned over to me and said quietly, “She’s been on Oprah.”

At the time, I was fighting to get into an honors course on climate change, but a schedule conflict was holding me back. The “J500” listing was only slightly less intimidating than working with Oprah, once removed, was intriguing. I dropped my Strategic Communication class and enrolled in one of the last spots of J500.

Ironic now, looking back to the class I swapped. In my head, looking at what I learned in this class is like a web of ideas, all interlinked, meta tagged and growing among leafy green vines. When I try to untangle all that and find a single root, I see that my takeaway has a great deal to do with strategic communication.

Each week, I squeezed in to take a seat at the table with some amazing Thinkers. My exposure to you all and your questions and ideas has inspired introspection. Early on, I saw that I’m a lousy critical thinker. What an upsetting discovery! Although our group tendency to question everything could be exhausting at times—

Define Sustainability
Communities living with the future in mind
What do you mean by communities?
And what do we mean by living?
Can we define our “future”
Saying “in mind” isn’t action-oriented enough
Why did you utilize “the” in that definition?
What was the question?
Why do you ask??

— I definitely learned how useful it is. I know I believe that we’re all in this together. What I didn’t let that entail is that we can all be learning as we go. Even the author of a cool article in Rolling Stone (Thanks, Travis). Even Oprah. Even the IPCC. Adam Werbach. NBC. Maybe not Adam Bowman. The strategic communication I learned here was about consuming information. Thinking past what I formerly considered to be the endpoint, a claim from a reliable source.

I’m hating how hyperbolic this is coming off, but I’ll risk it to take the opportunity to let you all (my classmates, Simran) know that I gained something from you that I value very much.

The satisfaction I gained from my weekly “a-ha” moments, the wonderful people I had the pleasure of interacting with, and learning a great deal about environmental issues far far far outweighs my disappointment that Oprah was never a digital visitor.

With love,
Sonya English
We'll always have our shortcomings



My Report Card by denzylj
April 29, 2008, 6:20 pm
Filed under: Society + Media | Tags: , , ,

Such has been my performance since attending KU, that I’ve been blissfully unaware of all the “As” I’ve notched.

That is to say Bisphenol A.

In the sweltering heat, I’ve played soccer, and not being sufficiently acclimated (and out of shape), I’ve consumed copious amounts of water – from the same old, dare I say it, leaching plastic bottles. They’ve long since been discarded, but that’s courtesy of some shock revelations ala courses 500 and 624. Those numbers have brought more insight than I could have hoped for, but it’s the others I fear most – those single digit ones underneath the bottles, the ones we don’t pay much heed to or even know about. On the pitch, I thought it was about getting in shape, building up the physique, getting kicked in the shins or solar plexus only to soldier on, but now to have the wind sucked out of me, and the not too small mention of a dent to my male pride … by accounts of how Bisphenol A leads to decreased testosterone levels in men.

I also don’t look at buildings the same way. I hesitate to step into a room without thinking of VOCs and wonder how long and how much chemicals I’ve been exposed to. How much more can this body take. Actually make that how much can this earth endure? Such has been my exposure… suddenly that seems a nasty word, education maybe in this class that I can rattle off a gazillion definitions of sustainable living. OK, I exaggerate, but you get the picture. I think twice about which light bulbs to buy; unplugging idle electrical components; short flushes and long ones; plastics this side, newspapers that side, aluminum there; Prius’s above SUV’s, one minute showers and green versus being in the dark.

It’s been a good education, but one which is far from over. I’m not scoring As for effort yet. Some serious lifestyle reshuffling has to go on, but the wealth of information has been informative. Encouraging too are the many students who’ve show a genuine commitment to treasuring our natural heritage. I can’t help sensing though that there’s still a disconnect between first world agendas and developing and third world priorities. How, for instance, do we talk to villagers in Mali about energy efficient compact fluorescent light bulbs and recycling when they’re preoccupied with a struggle for survival, about global warming and reducing carbon emissions when the fingers are pointing back to the world’s biggest polluters? Debate perhaps for another forum. But credit to Simran for a well-organized program with expert guests and informative readings.

Now where’s that Bisphenol A?

-Denzyl



Reflections on a Smokestack: Musings on Life in J500 by vincemeserko
April 29, 2008, 4:12 pm
Filed under: Society + Media | Tags: , , , , ,

I was originally going to call my final post “The Death of J500 and the Rise of Burnt Orange” or something like that. I was going to perform an autopsy on the class, declare myself the leader of a new “orange movement,” unfurl a new banner with the official symbol for the movement (an eagle which would symbolize freedom) and then I’d tell you all to shop at the Big K. Instead I went with the “confessional memoir” title … so I’ll go ahead and confess. I very nearly dropped this class before it ever started. I remember sitting at home in early January and scrolling through the 347 page syllabus and thinking “hmm … perhaps I should end my collegiate career taking “introduction to dinosaurs” or “history of the Samurai” instead. I’m very very glad I hung in there. This class has been unlike anything else I’ve taken at KU. I think I’ve written that line in every “course reflection” paper I’ve ever had to do (“introduction to finite mathematics really changed my life!”) and I’m pretty sure I never actually meant it. This class had no textbooks, no formal lectures, no Powerpoint. We didn’t even use paper. We sat around a table and discussed, listened, analyzed, criticized, interrogated capitalism and learned about the intricacies of sex toys. We were lead by an instructor who didn’t claim to have all the answers and acknowledged early on that there was no truth. What the hell is this? Communism?

It was actually quite refreshing. I learn a lot better this way – when everything is up for grabs, and everything said or written is a little bit wrong in some way. That’s quite an intellectual challenge, but it was a lot more fun. As the course progressed, I found my own interests overlapping with topics from class in unexpected ways. The class blog was a great venue to illuminate those realizations. As someone who is neither outgoing nor very skilled at conversation, the blog gave me a chance to go bananas and rub shoulders with people I admire.

While Adam Werbach is an easy target for criticism, he absolutely has the right idea about how we can move forward. Environmentalism is dead – bury it with all the other -isms I say. There is no such thing as “environmental” things, only “human being” things. That’s probably the most important thing I’ll take away from this class.

Thanks to everyone. I had a great time! (begins openly weeping on keyboard).

I’ll leave you with a full YouTube version of MOFRO’s “Lochloosa” that was used in my project 2 assignment. Seems like a fitting way to close. Go see them when they come to Kansas City in July.

-Vince Meserko



Collage of Green by sachikom
April 29, 2008, 4:08 pm
Filed under: Society + Media | Tags: , , , ,

The beginning of the class was a culture shock. I was surprised how much environmentalists can sacrifice to prevent environmental crisis. Concepts like vegan and limiting human populations for the environment went beyond my understanding. But I always like to get out of my comfort zone. I enjoyed learning and interacting with all of you who have different values.

I had been angry and depressed for the second quarter, my darkest green period in the semester. I was freezing in my apartment not using the heater. I always brought a plastic bag with me just in case I had to buy something. I was mad at people who can’t do simple recycling. I blamed politicians. I felt powerless because I couldn’t even convince my friends why we have to care about the environment. The humor week relieved some of my tension. I liked George Spyros‘s lecture. I learned to be clever and sexy.

Photo Credit: 2desktop.com, Beautiful Green Leaf

I then noticed my friends were annoyed by me. Even though I stopped preaching environmentalism, I often talked about global warming, recycling and local and organic food. This class constantly kept me thinking. I couldn’t stop outputting things I learned. On the other hand, my friends’ response taught me something. I wondered if some audience were tired and overwhelmed by massive information and products selling green. Many lay audiences cannot tell what is true green and what is greenwash. I thought it is our responsibility to provide accurate information and guide them to the right direction.

In my opinion, we cannot expect everybody to sacrifice a certain lifestyle or value to protect the environment. But everybody can participate in the movement at a different level. My contribution is to be a reporter and fill a gap between people who have different values. For example, I share the passion of environmentalists. At the same time, I can relate to people who are less willing to take action. I will not be an environmental journalist particularly. But environmentalism should be always part of my lifework.

By Sachiko Miyakawa



For every semester, learn, learn, learn… by rarab

Photo courtesy of bencourtney23

So, what did I learn this semester. Hmm…let’s see, what did I learn…What. Did. I. Learn.

Oh, I know. I learned that a certain local politician contibutes to the cause by not always flushing on “the deuce.”

I learned a lot about my classmates, namely that Lauren doesn’t want you to procreate, and that if I visit Jennifer, I’ll probably just “hold it.” I also learned what to do if I ever somehow get my first period.

I learned that I’m a bad person. No matter how hard I try to live an eco-conscious life, I’m still buying way too much “un-green” stuff (and stuff in general), I’m still putting too much trash in the landfill, I’m still not reducing my carbon footprint enough.

Through the artwork of Chris Jordan, I learned that I’m not alone in my wasteful ways…and that we’ll soon be surrounded by skyscrapers of Dixie Cups.

I learned about Environmental Justice, which says there’s no environmental safety for any of us unless it’s available to all of us.

I learned that I don’t agree with Adam Werbach. I learned I feel strongly that market reform is necessary, but it shouldn’t be the primary motivation for saving our planet–or ourselves. I learned I could go on about my difference with Werbach, but I learned to let things go, too… (I learned to take a deep breath).

What else…let’s see…I learned that we have a remarkably strong Governor–and a courageous Secretary of Health and Environment. I learned we’re fortunate to live in a state where some of our leaders are willing to see the bigger picture of global climate change.

I learned that corn is the devil’s fruit, that the ethanol craze (environmentalism unchecked) can lead to a food crisis, and that none of the presidential candidates are doing a good job of addressing pressing environmental issues.

I learned that a month of blogging doesn’t earn you enough money to buy a CD…unless it’s something in the discount bin. I learned that there were other rewards to blogging (and other hidden costs).

I learned that I was surrounded by a class of amazing people–some were silent in person but raged through their writing, most were funny, all were genuinely searching. It’s been amazing to read these perspectives. I learned that we had an incredible teacher who made it possible for us to talk directly to each other–and with people on the cutting-edge of environmentalism.

Finally, I learned that I can’t keep a post under 250 words.

So, good luck, everyone. It’s been an enlightening class, to say the least. I’ll be interested to hear how all of you apply the knowledge we gained from this semester.

And, of course, I’m grateful I had the opportunity to learn from you.

–Ranjit


Photo courtesy of Vineus



Dear Post-Consumer Recycled Paper Diary by julianat
April 29, 2008, 2:55 pm
Filed under: Society + Media | Tags: , ,

For the past 4 months I have learned that I am not alone.

I have learned that there really are other passionate people out there that wade through the quagmire of “where, how, why?” questions while waiting in the check-out line or before they step out of their door in the morning.

I’ve learned that the reason some people are skeptical of the future or climate change is because they are scared to think that their life will change as the result of the very way they have lived their life.

I’ve learned that people are doing their best.

I have been inspired by so many people who have stepped out of their boundaries in order to examine their actions and their effects on the environment that it has made me become more hopeful myself.

Although I am glad that people are changing their minds, and are now seeing through green tinted glasses, I still feel like there is still so much work to do.

There is so much disparity between people and ideas, places and things, even with the University of Kansas and the greater community of Lawrence. How do we get political parties to come together in order to change the way things are going in order to really , REALLY help the people? How do we get these parties to consider environmental justice for all their citizens, not just the wealthy few? How do we connect to all the people across the world and within their communities, to have them admit that there is a problem that needs to be addressed and unite in a way that isn’t economically driven, but life sustaining driven? How do we spread awareness effectively, do things with an open mind and an honest heart…how do we even convince our parents?

While these questions are all still in the air, I believe with optimism that we will survive, that we can come together and help each other out, because we have to, because we DEPEND on ourselves and each other, and it eventually will have to happen whether we like it or not.

Anyway, Thank you Simran and THANK YOU class, for sharing your opinions, knowledge… and for eating my snacks !

Love

Juliana Tran

Sad polar bear

Picture from http://www.Icanhascheezburger.com

(If you don’t get it go to here)



Teary-Eyed, End-Of-Class Gushiness by bobbygrace
April 29, 2008, 2:38 pm
Filed under: Society + Media | Tags:

Photo: scotersen, flickr

Last fall, Bill Woods, head of the Environmental Studies program, told me about a class called Media and the Environment. The class was going to be taught by Simran Sethi, who had worked with TreeHugger.com, NBC and everyone else, and that it was going to be really interesting, but a lot of work. I told him I was already enrolled.

Bill was right about everything. To make time to blog every week was difficult, but the schedule was nice. It taught me regularity and timeliness. Plus, the chance to blog about green tech for class credit only happens every so often. I strengthened my writing with the great tips I received: be personal, lead readers on, fact check, get out in the field, don’t be afraid to use humor, and so on; all of which are fairly self-evident, but brought to light by the most insightful and influential group of guests I’ve ever had in a class.

I learned about the systems of bees and ants, I looked up close at my trash, reaffirmed my hatred of photo-degrading plastic bottles, and learned on multiple occasions the stark differences between scientists and journalists in their ability to communicate. I still get a headache thinking about those CReSIS graphs. I learned through photo, video, writing, audio, but not by paper. I took from Simran and our guests, but learned equally from my classmates.

That was awfully, awfully gushy and apologize for that. I hope I wasn’t the only one excited about this class from start to finish.

Thanks, everyone.

Bobby



It’s not a small world after all… by denah

As I look back on the last few months and about this particular class, I can’t help but have a flashback to my childhood. I’m sitting in Disney World on the ride “It’s a small world after all” with little mechanical people from all different parts of the world dancing, singing and playing with one another. A part of me wants to believe that everybody in the world can dance, sing and play with one another…but it is really not so easy.

If anything, this course has taught me to open my eyes just a little more to what is going on in our world. The world is truly a big, big place…with so many opportunities. There is still so much to learn about the environment, about going green, about the polar bears and polar ice caps, the meat industry, landfills and recycling. I have learned that I need to step out of this small shelter that I have had myself in for most of my lifetime and I need to learn about what is happening in and to our world.

Since I am realizing how big this world truly is, I have to wonder where my place is. Where do I fit into this enormous world? This course has taught me that it is okay to not be radical, but to take these small baby steps. I know I don’t need to be a vegetarian to make a world a better place, but I do know that maybe an alternative would be to eat organic, local meats. I have to thank my classmates for accepting me as somewhere in the middle of all of this.

After spending time in this class and working at the Center for Sustainability this semester, I obviously think about what it even means to be sustainable anyway. I thought our class discussion about the definition of sustainability was the perfect way to sum up the reasons for “why are we here?” and “why do we even care?” We’re here and we care because this is about us, the people. It is about ways to make ourselves happy and to make the world happy. It is about compromise and sacrifice of ourselves in order to put someone else’s and the world’s needs first. We really need to ensure our survival and the world’s survival. What better way of doing that then working together?

So now what? I want to thank Simran and the entire class for such an eye opening experience. I am so glad I chose to take this course because I have really learned so much. Thank you for helping me open my eyes to the world. So what do we do with all of this that we have experienced this semester? Educate others and yourself.

I will end this post with a quote from one of my favorite movies, Airplane:

“Just want to let you know, we’re counting on you.”

-Dena Hart



j500 teaches the sun a thing or two by acbowman
April 29, 2008, 11:03 am
Filed under: Society + Media | Tags: , , , , , , ,

There is an old saying, “There is nothing new under the sun.”

sun

photo courtesy of astro.uva.nl

However, after a semester researching and analyzing environmental media content, I have come to think that environmental problems are in fact new. The earth has seen environmental transitions and changes before, but never has the cause of those problems had the intelligence and technology to stop and possibly reverse it’s impact.

Human beings have had to make difficult decisions before, such as whether to go to war or how to feed ourselves. But the environment brings a level of complexity in the decision making process that we haven’t had to deal with before

Because these problems are new, we have a difficult time figuring out solutions. This makes communicating about the issues equally daunting. As our blog illustrates, we all have different ideas about how to fix the problems, and how to communicate about the problems. In traditional media, the issues are discussed, like most things, as polarizing opposites in conflict. The benefit of new media sources is that there is opportunity to discuss the issues as people problems, rather than political problems.

The one constant in all of this is that the environment isn’t a Democratic issue. It isn’t a Republican issue. It isn’t a rich issue. And it isn’t a poor issue. It is a people issue. The brilliant thing about people is that we are all different. And the frustrating thing about people is that we are all different. Because of that, there is no one answer for how to reach everybody to inform and educate them about sustainability.

What has come through all of this, for me, is that you have to talk to people where they are. What is important to them. And show them how by being sustainable, they are really making everything that is important to them better. Basically, you have to talk to them on a personal level.

So even though the problems are more complex than anything under the sun, the way to communicate about them is as old as dirt.

dirt

photo courtesy of pioneerasphaltinc.com

-Adam