J500 Media and the Environment


Dear Post-Consumer Recycled Paper Diary by julianat
April 29, 2008, 2:55 pm
Filed under: Society + Media | Tags: , ,

For the past 4 months I have learned that I am not alone.

I have learned that there really are other passionate people out there that wade through the quagmire of “where, how, why?” questions while waiting in the check-out line or before they step out of their door in the morning.

I’ve learned that the reason some people are skeptical of the future or climate change is because they are scared to think that their life will change as the result of the very way they have lived their life.

I’ve learned that people are doing their best.

I have been inspired by so many people who have stepped out of their boundaries in order to examine their actions and their effects on the environment that it has made me become more hopeful myself.

Although I am glad that people are changing their minds, and are now seeing through green tinted glasses, I still feel like there is still so much work to do.

There is so much disparity between people and ideas, places and things, even with the University of Kansas and the greater community of Lawrence. How do we get political parties to come together in order to change the way things are going in order to really , REALLY help the people? How do we get these parties to consider environmental justice for all their citizens, not just the wealthy few? How do we connect to all the people across the world and within their communities, to have them admit that there is a problem that needs to be addressed and unite in a way that isn’t economically driven, but life sustaining driven? How do we spread awareness effectively, do things with an open mind and an honest heart…how do we even convince our parents?

While these questions are all still in the air, I believe with optimism that we will survive, that we can come together and help each other out, because we have to, because we DEPEND on ourselves and each other, and it eventually will have to happen whether we like it or not.

Anyway, Thank you Simran and THANK YOU class, for sharing your opinions, knowledge… and for eating my snacks !

Love

Juliana Tran

Sad polar bear

Picture from http://www.Icanhascheezburger.com

(If you don’t get it go to here)

5 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Juliana,
I think we bring people together in ways you are already doing – with respect, patience, and cookies. Seriously, thank you for all the baked goods. They were wonderful.
The community you have at Environs is made up of people with all kinds of histories. What was the catalyst for change for each of those folks? I suspect each person has a different story to tell of how and why s/he came to Environs but now has a (somewhat) shared purpose.
That is the place to excavate. Knowing what helped grow your community will help you to continue to reach others. With cookies.

Simran

Comment by j500

Juliana,

I’ve enjoyed reading your posts all semester long–I hope you continue with blogging (I know that’s the last thing you probably want to hear right now)!

Anyway, good luck. Keep fighting the good fight (and baking the good cookies).

–Ranjit

Comment by rarab

Juliana.

I´ve added the link to your post as one of the “inspiring posts” links on my blog. (letsgrowgreen.blogspot)

I´d like to hear your thoughts on my new project.

Hope you are doing great,
Daniel Aguilar

Comment by letsgrowgreen

Juliana,

There are so many questions you posed in your seventh paragraph. But you know what? We, as a class, came up with a lot of solutions for these communication problems. No, none of them were the BINGO! answer to all of the problems, but I think we came up with quite a few. We have such thinkers (and bakers!) in our class. But you are right—the optimism will get us through. We just need to take our solutions out into the world and see how we can apply them. Thank you for the thought-provoking post. We have covered so much in this short class…but we have time to get out there and make it all come together!

Kim

Comment by kimwallace

One other thing I’ve realized while reading the comments left on my posts is that I often write gloom and doom. I still do really think that there is a lot of change that needs to be done, but I am confident that things will turn out for the best. The best way I’ve learned on really making an impact is by showing it through my actions, the way I live, the way I talk to people and share. Subtle changes, like Jennifer’s idea of “what do I have in my backyard”, really do add up. All of us are leaving clues through our actions on the changes we want to see.

Thank you all for such beautiful reflections.

Juliana

Comment by julianat




Leave a Reply

