J500 Media and the Environment


About Me: John Kuhn by genghiskuhn
February 17, 2008, 9:42 pm
Filed under: Society + Media

I’m originally from a pumpkin and melon farm in rural northern Kansas (Willa Cather country, right on the Nebraska border). As a result, my childhood was drenched in hardcore manual labor and equally intense conservative Catholicism(think picketing-abortion-clinics style). In my spare time I swim endless laps and read for pleasure, as well as occasionally cookin’ a pretty mean meal. My interest in green issues is in large part due to my agricultural background(though it also dovetails nicely with the fact that I’m a total cheapskate).

I was a pre-med/biochemistry major for my first three undergraduate years- I finally ditched it after realizing that being good at something isn’t necessarily the same as enjoying it. I’ll graduate in May with an English major; I’m still trying to figure out where I’m headed from here.

A picture even sillier than Travis’s:

-John Kuhn



ABOUT ME: TRAVIS BROWN by travisjbrown
February 17, 2008, 7:59 pm
Filed under: Society + Media

I am a charming young gentleman from Dallas, TX. I used to like Texas much more before it got too hot to bare during the summers. I am afraid I might go their next year and melt since I have now acclimated to the Kansas winters.

I’m 21. Other than the whole failing body parts thing, I really look forward to being old. I wouldn’t be controlled by these crazy hormones and chemical imbalances and such. And I could get away with wearing weirder things. Now, if I wear a bow tie or suspenders, it just seems like I’m trying to make a statement.

I came to KU with the hope of becoming a journalist and writing the next great American novel. But with my recent education about environmental issues, I’m facing a bit of a dilemma. I would obviously sell more copies than the works of J.K. Rowling and God combined. This wouldn’t fare well on our precious mother earth’s resources. I might just have to write one of those text novels that are huge in Japan and do my part to destroy the eyesight of all who read.

Either way I would have to change my name. Travis Brown is not nearly as powerful as, say, Ernest Hemingway, Norman Mailer or Theodore Seuss.

-Travis Brown



About Me: Sarah H by shemme
February 17, 2008, 10:06 am
Filed under: Society + Media | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

I’m a farm girl from Perry, Kansas. Our family farm was established in the 1860s and today we raise beef, corn, soybeans, and wheat among other things. I went to a small rural high school where my mom was my English and French teacher.

I have a lot of questions…a lot…about everything. I can be a bit of a rascal as I like to challenge conventional wisdom.

I graduated from KU in 2004 with a BA in Art History and French. Then I moved to Aspen, Colorado until I returned to the farm in 2006. I decided to return to KU and pursue a BS in Journalism, so here I am and I guess I’m still trying to answer a lot of those questions that I find myself always asking.

Tidbits:

Fave Color: white

Sign: Scorpio

Food: anything Mexican and Samoa girl scout cookies

Music: Led Zeppelin, Ween, Flaming Lips, Bob Dylan, Feist… I listen to a lot of NPR, so I like classical, too.

Loves: Laughing, farm life, space, country air, the environment, nature and TRAVEL. I’ve been to France, Spain, England, the Netherlands, Guatemala, China, Japan and… I lived in New Zealand on a little teeny tiny sheep farm on the South Island between Queenstown and Arrowtown back in 2003. Bought a car for $300, drove all over the island, lived out of the car for a few months, too. Went on some of the most amazing backcountry treks EVER. Absolutely love, love, LOVE New Zealand – is by far the most beautiful place I’ve ever been.

I love life, love people and love learning – I’m just a farm girl geek from Kansas.

~ Sarah H

Reading in Guatemala

add to del.icio.us : Add to Blinkslist : add to furl : Digg it : add to ma.gnolia : Stumble It! : add to simpy : seed the vine : : : TailRank : post to facebook



A Compact Compendium: Jen Humphrey by jenh
February 17, 2008, 9:08 am
Filed under: Society + Media

As one who is often verbose,

I offer a six-word biography… (or two)

Realistic idealist Kansan wearing many hats

Sometimes a leader and secret keeper

Partner, writer, friend, defender, taste seeker

-Jen Humphrey



About Me: Simran Sethi by j500

The official bio is below, but the reason I’m here on this blog is because I created it. I teach environmental and sustainability communications courses at the University of Kansas School of Journalism and Mass Communications. I’m the School’s Lacy C. Haynes Professional-in-Residence, which means I teach, conduct research for my book, and work in the field. I’m also a courtesy faculty with the Environmental Studies department. I’m a freelance journalist the creator of Sundance Channel’s environmental justice series The Good Fight, and the author of an upcoming book on eco-elitism and the power of the prairie. All of these opportunities are amazing, but one of my greatest joys is bringing these experiences back into the classroom at KU.

I never expected to be an environmental story-teller: I have never taken a journalism class and failed the one class I did take on The Earth. I failed it because it focused on the shifting of tectonic plates and bored me to tears. To this day, I only care about tectonic shifts relative to how they impact communities. I saw the impacts of multi-national corporations on poor communities in India (after a long tenure at MTV News, making documentaries in the US, then being asked to join on-air and anchor the news for MTV Asia and create the news department for MTV India) and I knew I wanted to tell those stories. But I didn’t have the language to do it. So I went back to school to get an MBA in sustainable management, looking at the social and environmental impacts of business, and learning how to tell the stories I have the privilege of telling today.

This course is designed to give students the language and literacy required to tell stories about our environment – from how we eat to what we wear, from how we work to how we live. We don’t exist outside of our eco-system, and we all care about our future. In my mind, that makes each of us environmentalists, every day (whether we’re vegan or omnivores, treehugging conservatives or liberal businessfolks, we aren’t just one thing.).

What I hope is that, in this course, we start to see the ways in which we share values and desired outcomes, and we develop the language for bridging divides, inspiring people to action, and ensuring the sustainability of our natural resources for all.

The Official Bio:

Simran Sethi is an Emmy award-winning journalist and the Lacy C. Haynes Visiting Professional Chair at the University of Kansas School of Journalism and Mass Communications, where she teaches courses on sustainability and environmental communications. She is currently writing a book on eco-elitism to be published by Harper Collins in March 2010 and is the contributing author of Ethical Markets: Growing the Green Economy, winner of the bronze 2008 Axiom Award for Best Business Ethics book. Simran is the founding host/writer of Sundance Channel’s environmental programming The Green and the creator of the Sundance web series The Good Fight, highlighting global environmental justice efforts and grassroots activism.

Named one of the top ten eco-heroes of the planet by the UK’s Independent and lauded as the “environmental messenger” by Vanity Fair, Simran has contributed segments to Nightly News with Brian Williams, Oprah Winfrey Show, Today Show, CNBC, Ellen DeGeneres Show, Martha Stewart Show and the History Channel.  She is committed to a redefinition of environmentalism that includes voices from the prairie, the inner city and the global community.  Simran serves on the Sustainability Advisory Board in Lawrence, Kansas and is the Chair of the City’s working group on climate change policy, education and outreach.

Simran currently blogs about energy policy and life cycle analysis for The Huffington Post and Alternet.  She has been a featured guest on NPR and is the host of the Emmy-award winning PBS documentary, “A School in the Woods.”  She has lectured at institutions ranging from the Commonwealth Club and Cornell University to Lawrence High School and Temple Beth Haverim; keynoted conferences including Bioneers by the Bay, the Green Business Conference, and the North American Association For Environmental Education; and moderated panels for the Clinton Global Initiative University, Demos and the Climate Group.

Simran is an associate fellow at the Asia Society.  She holds an M.B.A. in sustainable business from the Presidio School of Management and graduated cum laude with a B.A. in Sociology and Women’s Studies from Smith College.  She is the 2009 recipient of the Smith College Medal, awarded to alumnae demonstrating extraordinary professional achievements and outstanding service to their communities.

-Simran Sethi