J500 Media and the Environment


About Me: Sarah H by shemme
February 17, 2008, 10:06 am
Filed under: Society + Media | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

I’m a farm girl from Perry, Kansas. Our family farm was established in the 1860s and today we raise beef, corn, soybeans, and wheat among other things. I went to a small rural high school where my mom was my English and French teacher.

I have a lot of questions…a lot…about everything. I can be a bit of a rascal as I like to challenge conventional wisdom.

I graduated from KU in 2004 with a BA in Art History and French. Then I moved to Aspen, Colorado until I returned to the farm in 2006. I decided to return to KU and pursue a BS in Journalism, so here I am and I guess I’m still trying to answer a lot of those questions that I find myself always asking.

Tidbits:

Fave Color: white

Sign: Scorpio

Food: anything Mexican and Samoa girl scout cookies

Music: Led Zeppelin, Ween, Flaming Lips, Bob Dylan, Feist… I listen to a lot of NPR, so I like classical, too.

Loves: Laughing, farm life, space, country air, the environment, nature and TRAVEL. I’ve been to France, Spain, England, the Netherlands, Guatemala, China, Japan and… I lived in New Zealand on a little teeny tiny sheep farm on the South Island between Queenstown and Arrowtown back in 2003. Bought a car for $300, drove all over the island, lived out of the car for a few months, too. Went on some of the most amazing backcountry treks EVER. Absolutely love, love, LOVE New Zealand – is by far the most beautiful place I’ve ever been.

I love life, love people and love learning – I’m just a farm girl geek from Kansas.

~ Sarah H

Reading in Guatemala

add to del.icio.us : Add to Blinkslist : add to furl : Digg it : add to ma.gnolia : Stumble It! : add to simpy : seed the vine : : : TailRank : post to facebook

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Where did you move to in Colorado? I stayed in Crested Butte for a summer.

-Kim

Comment by kimwallace

I lived in Aspen. Ah yes, I had always intended to do the big hike from Aspen over the mtns to CB, but never did. Supposed to be an awesome trek.

~Sarah

Comment by shemme




Leave a Reply

