J500 Media and the Environment


Mail Back: USPS to recycle your e-waste free of charge by bobbygrace

206073049_8db05fb103.jpg
Photo: Max Knight, flickr

I don’t skateboard.

I’ve tried, but I never really got the hang of it. The last (and final) time I tried, I fell and cracked the screen of my phone. The proper way to describe the phone would be unusable, but I like to say it was totally thrashed.

The USPS knows there are people out there like me, people with electronics that are no longer usable. Knowing the toxicity of electronics, the USPS has set up a novel program to recycle electronics called Mail Back.

Instructions:

1. Go to the post office.
2. Pick up a pre-paid envelope.
3. Insert totally thrashed cell phone along with dreams of becoming a professional skateboarder.
4. Seal envelope and send it off.

Yes, people, it’s that easy with the Mail Back program. Your postage is care of Clover Technology Group, the company that won the USPS’s love and manages the electronic waste. Your PDAs, iPods, ink cartridges, digicams, and other small electronics are refurbished, reused, recycled, and never sent to the landfill. This program is a first for the USPS and as such it is only available in 10 areas across the country including Washington DC, Chicago, LA, and San Diego. If well received, the program will go national this fall.

via: Planet Green, USPS Press Release

Bobby Grace