J500 Media and the Environment


SunChips Turn Compostable by jackiemcc

When I was growing up, my dad always had a composting pile in the backyard; so I’ve always been interested in the concept of composting. When my friend told me about the green efforts Frito-Lay is doing with their SunChips, I was intrigued to learn more. I found out that I support what they are doing, and I think their green efforts are going pay off in the long run.

The new SunChips compostable bags will be released on Earth Day of 2010. Photo Courtesy of: http://www.greenr.ca

Just recently, SunChips announced that they will be introducing eco-friendly compostable chip bags. These bags will be made from plants, so it will be completely compostable. When placed in a compost pile, the bags will break down in 14 weeks.

The bags are made from plant-based polylactic acid (PLA). And because of this, the results are earth-friendly. Not only will they reduce the waste in landfills, but less fossil fuels will be used to make the bag.

Sounds too good to be true, right? Maybe. The only discouraging part to the new bags is that they produce a louder sound when handling them. SunChips said that is because of the materials used to make the bag. The plant-based products in the bags have different sound properties than the old bags.

Despite the louder noise, I still think these compostable bags are a smart idea. They help protect the Earth, and save on unnecessary waste. It doesn’t take that long to eat a bag of chips, so the amount of time spent holding the bag is significantly less than the benefits that will be gained. This may just be a start, but it’s a huge step at least. Maybe after SunChips’ efforts, other chip companies will follow.

-Jackie McClellan

6 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Jackie-
Interesting post. I saw that commercial a couple of weeks ago and was wondering the same thing: if it was too goo to be true. I think now that I have been exploring food in a new manner, I have been taught to question. Do you think that this trend of compostable bags and such will carry onto other companies?

-Becca N.

Comment by beccan

Becca-
I agree with you on looking at food in a whole new manner. Now I do question, and think twice about what I’m eating.

Personally, I do think other companies will try this new trend of compostable bags, but I’m not sure if it will ever catch on with the public (I’ll explain why in my response to Kristina’s question). In regards to your question, I do think other companies will give these compostable bags a try though. I guess only time will tell though!

-Jackie M.

Comment by jackiemcc

Jackie,

I am wondering, do you think most people will care whether or not the bag is compost-able? -Kristina B.

Comment by kristinabev

Kristina-
You ask a good question. It definitely makes someone think.

Personally, I don’t think the bags will be very popular with the public. One reason I say this is because when I was doing some research for my post, I found more negative comments from the public than positive. Many of the complained about the loud noise the bag makes.

However, I do think that there will still be a group of us that will be interested in the idea of compostable bags/composting. I just don’t think many people care about composting as much as they used to. It doesn’t seem to be a popular trend anymore.

Personally, I think it’s a great idea, but I don’t think the general public will care as much about it as I do.
Great question though!
-Jackie M.

Comment by jackiemcc

I’ve seen this ad. Glad it’s probably legit. Any idea why Frito-Lay is only doing this for Sunchips? ~Ben C.

Comment by bendcohen

Ben-
That’s a good question. I had to think about that for a second.

I’m not sure why they are only doing it for SunChips, but my guess would have to be because the whole idea of compostable bags is new. I think they wanted to try it a little bit at a time, and not bite off more than they could chew, especially if the bags are not successful.

I found this press release on the Frito-Lay website about their new compostable bags. It discusses how these will be the first compostable bags in the world. I think they are only doing this for SunChips to start this innovation.

I guess we will see how it goes! Great question!
-Jackie M.

Comment by jackiemcc




Leave a Reply

