J500 Media and the Environment


No say about food today by tesshedrick
February 26, 2010, 4:43 pm
Filed under: J500 Week 6, Society + Media | Tags: , , ,

If someone were to ask me what my favorite food was, I would probably choose the simple lunch meat, turkey.  I could eat turkey everyday and never get sick of it.  However, if someone were to ask me how often I eat my favorite food, I would maybe say once a week.  Why, you ask?  Living in a sorority house gives you no freedom to choose what you eat.  The menus are decided by the chefs; basically, I just eat whatever they make even if I dislike it.

From my living situation the past year and half, my choice about the food I eat has basically been eliminated.  Since money is tight for the average college student, going out to eat usually isn’t really an option.

There is one place that has a special place in my heart, Subway.  The prices are great, it’s fast, and it’s healthy.  The five dollar foot-long has dramatically impacted my life; I mean I can buy one sandwich and get two meals out of it.  It’s brilliant!

If people are what they eat, I’m Subway.  Living on my own next year, I am curious how I will choose the poster foods of my pantry.  When I envision my kitchen next year, I see lots of fruits and veggies, pasta, and chicken.  Who am I kidding, I don’t know how to cook!

I’m sad to admit it, but I think everything in my kitchen will be packaged. This article describes how packaged foods are not the most healthy food, but is this going to stop me from eating it? Probably not.

Therefore, I will not have to mess with the whole cooking thing.  Looking at this previous statement, I realize how pathetic I sound; I don’t know how to cook and I really don’t have any desire to learn.  Good thing I’m not planning on becoming a house wife!

I’m really not too picky of an eater and will basically eat anything that is placed in front of me, which basically doesn’t leave me any time to think of where the food came from.  My hope for next year is that as I (hopefully) start going to the grocery store, I will be more conscious of where the food I’m buying is coming from.

I’m going to call next year my training year; I’m going to figure out what foods I really enjoy on top of being aware of where they came from.  Hopefully after my “training year” I will have a set list of foods that I always have my pantry and refrigerator stocked with.

sdd

I'm not a big fan of spicy chicken wings but it was in front of me, so I ate it.

-Tess H.

5 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Tess,

I am curious, what does the chef at the sorority house fix for you? -Kristina B.

Comment by kristinabev

Tess-
I loved your post, I could totally relate. Being in the same situation, I said “i’m going to cook such great meals that are healthy” once I live on my own…nope. It didn’t happen and it’s been almost a full school-year. My advice to you is to get a healthy-eating cookbook and mark recipes that you want to make. Shoot for one recipe a week, that’ll even get overwhelming, trust me. Involve your roommates, too. My roommates and I have just started this and for three weeks it’s been working. Also, have you ever looked into your chef’s food pantry or asked where the food is purchased or how local it is? I’d be curious to know.
-Becca N.

Comment by beccan

Sysco is the main food provider at my sorority. I went to the Sysco website and clicked on the “What’s green at sysco” link (http://www.sysco.com/services/features/sysco_green/whats_green.html). It gave a very ambiguous description of how they are going green. It was not very clear; it said things like “reducing the amount of chemicals” in foods but it didn’t say anything else about where the food came from.

-Te

Comment by tesshedrick

Sysco is the main food provider at my sorority. I went to the Sysco website and clicked on the “What’s green at sysco” link (http://www.sysco.com/services/features/sysco_green/whats_green.html). It gave a very ambiguous description of how they are going green. It was not very clear; it said things like “reducing the amount of chemicals” in foods but it didn’t say anything else about where the food came from.

-Tess H.

Comment by tesshedrick

Tess,
This is hilarious. I was in this position too, but you’ll be surprised how easy it is to catch on to a few simple dishes and go from there. Also, with the help of the internet, it’s incredibly simple to find easy and healthy meals.
-Kayla R

Comment by KaylaReg




Leave a Reply

