J500 Media and the Environment


It’s Not Easy Being Green by beccan
February 5, 2010, 12:18 pm
Filed under: Fashion + Beauty, J500 Week 3 | Tags: , , , , , ,

I started to notice the “Go Green” trend in high school when I heard the song “3 R’s” by Jack Johnson.  The lyrics send a clear message that it is important to reduce, reuse and recycle. The song is on the soundtrack of Curious George and was sung on Sesame Street, but it became a hit, even to high school students. I remember driving with friends listening to the soundtrack for the first time and thinking it was a joke. Soon enough we were all asking our trend-setting friend to give us a copy of the CD. I continue to listen to the song, but I sing along without really thinking about what I am singing. It isn’t even an environmental song to me anymore, the message faded after listening to it a hundred times.

This brings up the question of whether going green should be a trend. Will going green be another trend that fades, such as LiveStrong bracelets or fanny packs?

courtesy of www.ecorazzi.com

Celebrities sport "Green" t-shirts...and carry plastic bags while doing so.

 

Personally, I am torn on this question. I think that environmentalism is such a large issue that it shouldn’t be something that comes and goes like a trend, but at the same time is it a bad thing to spark interest by making it a trend and hoping that people will learn from it and continue to change their behaviors? The first step in getting people to change is informing them about what they are doing wrong so they can understand. Maybe a green trend could help with this first step.

 I found this article that includes a quiz of sorts that made me second guess if I was really in it for the long run or if I was another fad-following consumer. I learned a lot from reading these articles about global warming, making me realize I may not be so green at all. The author of the article was accurate in relating going green to dieting; there are some people who won’t break their pact and some that aren’t willing to change bad habits. I hope to be more informed about the green movement so that I am not just another person on the green bandwagon.

 Some green trends are fun and inexpensive, so consumers can try them out without having to spend money, such as green jeans that require no washing machine. I’ll be the first to admit that I have the thought in my head that going green is more expensive, but I am quickly learning that that isn’t all that true.

 Like Kermit the frog says, it’s not easy being green…but at least companies are trying to make it easier for us consumers. 

And the pizza was a hit for two of the five roommates, the others didn’t like the lack of cheese. Maybe we’ll have better luck next time.

Becca N.

4 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Becca,

First of all, I don’t think very many people really think that Kim K. is smart enough to understand the green movement. Secondly, even though the Live Strong movement has faded, didn’t it still raise millions of dollars for cancer research… which was the point, right?

I don’t think the problem is that being green is a trend. I think the problem is that a lot of things that have been labeled as a “green trend” aren’t really green.

What way do you think is best to inform people of the actual issues? -Kristina B.

Comment by kristinabev

Thanks or the comment!

And, point proven, Kim K. is a celebrity (trendy) and people just want to follow her because she is Kim K, not because she is an intelligent green consumer.

Second, hopefully the going green trend will help raise awareness, like the Livestrong bracelets raised money.

I think that the best way to inform people is to make them first aware of the problem and then spark curiosity about the issue so that consumers will start to ask questions.

Becca N.

Comment by beccan

Great post, Becca. You make some good points about “going green.”

Like Kristina, I wonder what you think is the best way for people, especially people in Lawrence, to become more educated about being green and also about how to distinguish so-called “green” items from true, sustainable items.

Also, I agree that perhaps sparking interest through trends is a good way to start, but how do you think companies or manufacturers can be held accountable for separating the true green products from the only partially green products? Is there something consumers can do?
Thanks.
— Lauren Cunningham

Comment by Lauren Cunningham

Thanks for your interest, Lauren!
Personally, I think that the Lawrence community worships athletics, specifically basketball and football. By getting KU athletics involved, as a trend setter, people will become more aware of the going green movement. I think that one of the best ways to influence is by celebrity endorsers and KU athletics is a huge celebrity-like figure in Lawrence. Now, this is just one idea, but I’m sure there are plenty more ways to go about it, too.
And yes, I know this starts as a trend, but I really do not think that starting the going green movement with a trend is a bad thing. It will lead to awareness, curiosity and then action.
That’s my take, at least.

Becca N.

Comment by beccan




Leave a Reply

