J500 Media and the Environment


About Me: Jackie McClellan by jackiemcc
January 24, 2010, 1:22 am
Filed under: J500 Week 1 | Tags: , , , , ,

Hi everyone! It was nice to meet all of you last week. Hopefully you will be able to get a better sense of me now from this post.

My name is Jackie McClellan, and I am a fifth-year undergraduate student double majoring in Journalism-News and Information, and English-Creative Writing. I am from Minneapolis, Minnesota, and hope to return there after I graduate this May. As much as I love Lawrence, home is home, you know.

During my time here at KU, I have been a correspondent for the University Daily Kansan, and have also worked with KUJH-TV. In addition to my written and television work, I also recently had an online internship this past summer. It was probably my most rewarding experiences in journalism yet. My internship was with the online journalism magazine: thecelebritycafe.com. For this internship, I wrote movie and book reviews, television show recaps, and news summaries. You can go here to read my work. I feel I learned a tremendous amount about online journalism through this internship.

After I graduate, I want to become a journalist for either a magazine or newspaper. I would especially be interested in entertainment writing. I would also write for an online website. My dream job however, would be to be a layout editor for a magazine or newspaper. I had some design experience in high school, and that is what I enjoyed the most.

I decided to take this class, because I have always subconsciously been interested in the environment. It has never been one of my top interests, but I am very opinionated in what I do believe in. I am especially interested in what we as people, can do to help preserve the environment. I am very opinionated when it comes to simple solutions, such as recycling. My belief is that it is not that hard to separate and recycle items. Plus it is good for the environment. I was so interested in the recycling and reusing efforts on campus, that I made a video story about what students, faculty, and staff can do with unwanted items on campus for one of my J415 videos. I will be interested in learning what more we can do to help the environment.

One group I have been a part of all through college is our KU Habitat for Humanity chapter. We work with Lawrence Habitat for Humanity to build simple, affordable housing for low-income families. The Lawrence Habitat’s ReStore also collects new and used house parts (for example, sinks, tables, chairs, etc…) and resells the items to the public. We build houses here in Lawrence, as well as in Kansas City. We also take a Spring Break trip every year, and spend a week building a house in another part of the country. Two years ago I went on our Spring Break trip to Clarkesville, Georgia to build a house. Throughout the years, I have been our secretary and treasurer. It has been a very rewarding experience, and I am glad I am a part of it. Below are some pictures from our Spring Break trip to Georgia.

—Jackie McClellan

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

