J500 Media and the Environment


About me: Tess H. by tesshedrick
January 18, 2010, 8:34 am
Filed under: J500 Week 1

Hello, my name is Tess.  I am a Junior at the University of Kansas and I am majoring in Journalism on the News and Information side and am minoring in English.  Having a strong interest in current events was how I chose this major.  My freshman year, I was an anchor on Jayhawk Sports Talk.  This gave me a taste of what I wanted I would be doing as a career.

My favorite part about Journalism is getting to talk to numerous people and finding out their stories.  I feel like there is never a dull moment when reporting on a news story.  I am constantly learning new things and about others’ lives.

Volunteering and giving back to the community has always been important to me.  One of my best experiences was volunteering at a week-long summer camp for kids with cancer and blood related disorders.  Having been a counselor for 3 years, my life has truly been changed.  For a lot of the campers, camp was a week long break from the hospital and getting to be a real kid.  The campers didn’t have to worry about what others thought about their bald heads because everyone understood each other.  This was a week free of being afraid that they would be judged by anyone.

Through this wonderful experience, I have learned how to appreciate life more.  It was amazing how strong those campers were and how positive they were about life, even though they were faced with hardship.

The reason why I took this class was to gain a better understanding on how to report on green-collar jobs.  The description of the class looks very interesting, and I am excited for the class to begin.  I enjoy giving back to the community, and  I think this is one way I can do my part.

Other things about me are I’m a laid back person and I like meeting new people.  I love traveling and trying new things.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

