J500 Media and the Environment


About Me: Lauren Keith (again, again) by Lauren Keith

I won’t tell you how old I am in Media and the Environment years, so let’s just say that I’ve done this a few times.

I grew up in a suburbian black hole in west Wichita. I lived in the same house for 18 years until I moved to Lawrence. For a class exercise last year, I had to list everything that I could walk to within a mile of my house. But I couldn’t make a list, and it was the first time I realized there wasn’t anything but more neighborhoods.

Since I was young, I’ve developed strange fascinations for things that I’ve felt sorry for. First it was Utah, then it was Neptune, and then it was playing the French horn. I didn’t know why, but no one else liked these things, so I figured that I should and that I could show other people that these things were not as weird or bad as they thought. OK, except Utah.

Maybe that’s how I ended up a libertarian, atheist, German-speaking tree-hugger from a community that is known for its religion and its serial killers. Seriously, there’s a movie about it.

I’ve recently become interested in photography, so if you ask me about Nikons, aperture or ISO, I might be able to tell you about 50 percent of the time.

I don’t know what I want to do with my life, but thanks for asking. I’d love to be a green consultant for businesses, schools or newspapers. The dream is to write or edit for Slate or be a farmer in Chase County.

If you get to know me any better, I might just show up unexpectedly at your doorstep with a free recycle can. Because every day is Earth Day.

— Lauren Keith

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

