J500 Media and the Environment


About Me: Kelly Cochran by Kelly
January 18, 2010, 12:18 pm
Filed under: J500 Week 1 | Tags: , ,

I am a first- year graduate student in the journalism school.  However,  I am enrolled in the university’s joint degree program which means I am also a second- year law student.  The result of these two degrees is a certification in Media Law and Policy.

I graduated from KU in 2008 with degrees in journalism and French.  I became aware in undergrad how much the journalism industry was changing.  Every aspect of journalism seemed to be in flux. Print newspapers were disappearing, citizen journalism was exploding, and everything was going digital. Importantly, these industry changes would inevitably bring about changes in the law. I decided that, in order to be truly excellent at what I did, I needed to become familiar with media’s legal landscape.

While I got closer and closer to graduation, I knew that I needed a deeper understanding of media as both a skill and a business.  In order to do that,  I decided I needed to keep writing and producing as a journalist. But I also wanted to learn about the architecture and rules of the information business. It seemed almost too perfect that the university had an option to stay connected to journalism through  graduate school while also giving me the chance to become an attorney.

I’m interested in the environment and environmental law for the same reason: the emphasis on change. In the past few years there has been a lot of attention given to environmental concerns and we as a public have more information than ever before on environmental issues. More importantly, there seems to be more information on how people can play a part in helping our environment.

I am eager to learn about environmental issues and, in the context of this class, the interaction of media and the environment.  I believe it is highly relevant and important and I am looking forward to the semester.

Kelly Cochran

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

