J500 Media and the Environment


About Me: Becca N. by beccan
January 18, 2010, 11:20 am
Filed under: J500 Week 1 | Tags: ,

Hi! 

My name is Becca and I am a senior at the University of Kansas, studying journalism on the strategic communications side. I have had a passion for writing for as long as I can remember and that’s how I knew I wanted to get into journalism. From there I found strategic communications. The past four years have been the best four years so far. I graduate in May and leaving this place is going to be most difficult! 

I became interested in Media and the Environment recently. This past summer, I had an internship with a company called Dirxion, which creates paperless publications. It opened my eyes to the sustainable world, because before that I was uninformed of the problem we are facing. 

The next semester back at KU, I worked on a campaign for the KU Center for Sustainability and KU Energy Council and learned how much of a difference individuals can make. Our job was to persuade the KU campus population to live a more sustainable lifestyle. Changing the behavior of thousands of students, staff and faculty was a huge challenge, but I am starting to see implementation already. KU Athletics hosted a “Green” basketball game and the University Daily Kansan has helped spread the word by publishing articles on the efforts. This makes all of the work well worth the time and effort. 

I went back home, to St. Louis, for winter break and found myself lecturing my parents on how important it is to recycle, telling them the environmental benefits and explaining how it saves them money, too. When I left to go back to school, there were three new bins in our garage for recyclables, when we used to have only a pile of old newspapers for recycling. 

Other than my new interest in the environment, I enjoy going to the gym, thunderstorms and being in the mountains. (As long as I’m not in the mountains when there’s a thunderstorm!)

Becca N.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

