J500 Media and the Environment


About me: Lauren Cunningham by Lauren Cunningham
January 17, 2010, 8:36 pm
Filed under: About Us, J500 Week 1

Hi.

I’m Lauren Cunningham, a senior at the University of Kansas from Silver Lake, Kan. I plan to graduate in May with a degree in journalism and a minor in English. Currently I am the managing editor of Kansan.com, the Web site for the University Daily Kansan, which I just began at the beginning of this year. So far I’ve really enjoyed the position because I’m interested in multimedia journalism and Web-related communication.

In my previous years at the University, I have been a correspondent, designer, multimedia producer and copy editor for The Kansan. I have also traveled to London over spring break as part of my western civilization course I took in Spring 2008.

I spent last summer in New York City for an internship with NBC Mobile. There, I helped clip, edit and produce pieces to be sent out to mobile devices, as well as assisted with video shoots, etc. This was my first in-depth experience with broadcasting or video editing, but I really enjoyed learning everything about it. Of course, I also enjoyed being in New York for the summer. I hope I can live there someday again, at least for a little while in my life.

I’m excited about taking “Media and the Environment” because I am trying to be more conscientious about what I buy and eat in effort to adopt a healthier, greener lifestyle. I really want to expand my knowledge on sustainability because I believe I don’t know enough about it. I think that by knowing more, I can make better decisions and hopefully affect my friends and family.

Besides all of the preceding formal information, to get to know me better you should know that I love cooking (when I have time, which is rare), reading and catching up on TV that I miss. I also love searching the Internet for cool multimedia tutorials and examples that inspire me.

— Lauren Cunningham

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

