J500 Media and the Environment


About Me: KaylaR by KaylaReg
January 17, 2010, 4:03 pm
Filed under: J500 Week 1 | Tags: ,

I’m Kayla Regan, Wichita senior, and with any luck, I’ll be graduating from the University of Kansas this May. I’m a journalism major, emphasis in news and information, and English minor.

I’m currently a blogger for Kansas Free Press and a Web designer for The University Daily Kansan. This is my third semester at The Kansan, where I’ve previously worked as a beat reporter, as well as a travel columnist while I interned for an advocacy publication in Dublin, Ireland. That was my first taste of advocacy writing and I completely loved it, which is why I’m very interested in learning more about sustainability and the environment. I really believe that sustainability is just as crucial to helping solve issues such as poverty, hunger, and disease as it is to causes like preserving wildlife and local ecologies. This is perhaps the primary reason I’m interested in this class, as I went into journalism because I want to help people, not merely observe the problems of the world. I’m especially interested in how food consumption affects people as well as the environment, a topic I began to explore in an article I wrote for Kansas Free Press (which can be viewed here). I believe this class will help me learn more about the connection between the environment and real world issues, as well as teach me to more effectively spread information on the importance of sustainability.

I also hope that this class will show me ways to live more sustainably in my own life. I think that while environmentalism is a global cause, it’s rooted in personal action. I’m excited to learn about what I can do, and in turn, perhaps show others to do the same.

Other than that, I’m a huge music nerd and book- worm. I laugh a lot and at everything from potty jokes to sophisticated satire (if I get it). My ideal day includes spending time in the great outdoors with family and friends. My dislikes include loud noises, the gym, and Tom Cruise post 2004.

Kayla Regan

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

