J500 Media and the Environment


Week 2: Defining Green…Not Easy by monicadela
June 25, 2009, 12:28 pm
Filed under: J840 Week 2, Society + Media | Tags: , , , ,

When the handyman at my elementary school would spray pesticide in the classroom or on the playground, I stayed away. I had a note from my mom saying I was “allergic” and had to go to the library.  Mom religiously warned me about leukemia and how “bug spray” harmed kids. While this did not make sense to me as a seven-year-old missing recess, I’ve come to understand and share her concern. Rachel Carson’s “Silent Spring” was embraced in my home. My mom read labels before it was trendy and went to health food stores when the clientele was mostly tie-dyed.  My snack apple was always smaller than the other kids’ because it was organic. I didn’t think of her behavior as green, but as cautious and critical.

What does that make my definition of “green?” It’s an awareness of consequences. Green is a consideration of my actions and how they affect who I live with, in and on. How does dumping chemicals into my neighborhood drains affect the kids running around? How long will my discarded soda cans sit in the landfill?  I’m responsible to others in my home, my community and the source of my resources, the planet.

Interestingly enough, the word green connotes many things: money, getting back to nature and a lack of experience and/or maturity.

Green as money is Garmin’s ecoRoute(TM) software. It’s a product that makes Garmin money, increases its reputation for social responsibility and ultimately saves consumers money.

Green as nature is the Kansas City Community Supported Agriculture Coalition. In a pre-packaged society, we disconnect from our resources and the process from ground to use. The KC CSA allows participants to become informed and vested their community and their food.

Green immaturity is the KC Fox 4 morning news (6/24/09) highlighting how nudist colonies are on the rise as an environmental movement. What!?

The one commonly shared truth for green — defining it, studying it, practicing it — is that, as my childhood buddy said, “it’s not easy.”

Courtesy of http://www.youtube.com

-Monica D.-

4 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Monica,

I think the consideration of “consequences” stands out as being most related to the idea of going green. This will probably be the most difficult post for me because whenever I try to define “Green”, I simplify it too much to just doing what makes sense. When we consider the consequences, throwing trash in ladfills or bodies of water just doesn’t seem to make sense.

Bests,
Trey

Comment by TreyW

Hi Trey,
I don’t think simplifying is a bad thing, nor is common sense. It’s the realistic and day-to-day changes that I can most easily incorporate into my life. That’s also most likely the case with Joe Consumer.

-Monica D.-

Comment by monicadela

The awareness aspect of the environmental issues is critical, and taking that awareness to action is the next step people need to take. It as been too easy for too long to just put things down the drain or in the trash. I have started using water I don’t finish or drinks the kids don’t finish into the plants. It is simple and saves money and time.
–Holly Eitel

Comment by hollyee

Hi Holly,
It’s all about cause and effect, action and reaction. Those two principles are widely applicable, especially to environmental matters.

-Monica D,-

Comment by monicadela




Leave a Reply

