J500 Media and the Environment


Green is Survival by angelajon
June 23, 2009, 1:31 pm
Filed under: J840 Week 2, Society + Media | Tags: , , , ,
 

Hippie Recycle Emblem

Green is Survival

For me, “Green” represents a variety of ideas; the vibrant, violent green of the Rhineland-Phalz area as spring explodes after a long winter; the theme of my girl-friend, Andi’s, life (if it ain’t green, it just ain’t); and the Debbie Meyer Green Bags® I store my garden’s produce in.

Green combined with the word planet describes a course of action, a mission, a focus, a goal.  When I think of it in this way, green becomes essential.  Green is what will provide breathable air and edible food for us, our children, and their children.  If man is to survive, the planet must be sustained.  If we are to sustain the planet, we have to learn to live green. 

Light green, medium green or a green so dark and earthy that it appears brown, there are varied shades of green.  Does the shade matter?  I suppose it can, but rather than get hung up on how green someone is, let’s applaud the intent behind the action. 

Man Leaves His Mark

Man Leaves His Mark

Containers of Every Shape and Size

Too often when we eat we do so out of plastic, glass, metal, or paper containers.  The planet that voluntarily sustains us is slowly being choked to death by these containers

Our appetites will eventually kill the planet that sustains us if we do not act.

The typical lifestyle is not green, but a bottomless void of immoderation.  We are enamored with our man-made conveniences.  The needs of our planet, the soil, the air and all life between the two, now require a man-made green.  Our ecosystem is a closed-loop that requires the inhabitants of planet earth to participate in the maintenance of all life within that loop.  We have to work together to make green happen, if we don’t we can only blame ourselves as the planet fails and dies.

The only items requiring recycling are man-made; the Green-up will have to be man-made also.

Green IS Survival

 

 

Angela Jones

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Angela:

Our appetites do seem insatiable, especially for plastic. Getting rid of plastic in my home has been one of my biggest “greening-up” challenges. The toxicity of estrogen-mimics in biphenyls motivated me to switch out my tupperware for glass/silicon containers. But even the rain barrels several green organizations push around town are plastic. There’s something terribly counter-intuitive about that. We are very dependent on this light, cheap and easy material. Even in our environmental pursuits. Do you think we can break our dependency?

Cheri L.

Comment by CheriL

Cheri,
thanks for writing. Insatiable is a good word, for our appetites and for our overt consumption. We consume, consume and look to consume some more. I am completely amazed at the amount of garbage put out for collection on the street where I live and these homes are mainly occupied by only two people, yet there is a large can, and bags as well for each house. I have not opened any of them, but I can imagine that the most common ingredient is plastic. In reviewing the material prior to the tele-lecture with Ms Cox, I read a blog where a lady has removed all use of plastic in her life. This made me think. I have packed my earth friendly bags with the fruit/veggie bags from my last trip to the store (I reuse them, the store does not even know), I keep a few empty storage containers in the back of the car to replace the doggie-bag container given out at restaurants. I also found that some manufacturers now package tampons, toilet paper, and other products in paper based wrappers only. I have written to Northern and a few others to ask them to consider changing their packaging, in the mean time I will purchase something that is packed earth friendly. I also changed to natural soaps, the ones that are not packed in anything. I use the same bags over and over, my Debbie Meyer Green Bags are over a year old. I wash them and hang them to dry. When I purchase cleaners, I get the refills in the light weight bags rather than a whole new plastic container. I wish we could bring our containers and pump them full at the store, (purchase by volume/weight would work) like the peanut butter or olive oil dispensers.
I have heard there are efforts to develop a replacement to plastic that breaks down naturally, but handles liquids like plastic, until they do that, I will fight against using it. I don’t have the answers, but I think if I keep making one step here, talk to others about not using plastics, and keep trying in my own life, it is at least one less piece of plastic in a landfill.

Thanks again
Angela

Comment by angelajon

Cheri
a second thought; when I take the small plastic bits (the plastic strip thing that holds shopping tags to clothes, the ring on the milk bottle tops, the plastic tie from my tortilla bag, the plastic that encompasses the gell caps)I put them inside any other plastic container that I am taking to the recycling center. I put the top on and that way they don’t get separted or fall out on the ground. I can take all plastics to the Haskell Street center in Lawrence, I don’t have to worry about which number it is. I also recycle my bottle caps. Any little bit I can do helps.

A

Comment by angelajon




Leave a Reply

