J500 Media and the Environment


About Me by Victor Vijayakirthi
June 15, 2009, 9:42 am
Filed under: About Us, J840 Week 1 | Tags: , , , , ,

I’m Victor Vijayakirthi and I’m working on my MBA at the Business school. I’m almost done with the program and I’ve learned a lot about what makes a for-profit organization tick, from new products development to marketing, finance, accounting, organization behavior, corporate strategy, etc. What I haven’t learned much about yet is how to give back, how to run a successful business while still being good stewards of the environment.

While I was thinking about how I can learn more about the environment and sustainability in a formal way, I heard about this course and it seemed like just what I was looking for. In this course I’m hoping to learn how I can apply these concepts at my work, and how to communicate this, within and outside the organization.

I work at Sprint, in IT. IT is among the most energy-consuming organizations in most companies today. Being one of the bigger companies in the Kansas city area, in an industry that by several accounts contributes to over 3% of greenhouse gas emission, Sprint IT has taken some serious initiatives to reduce its impact on the environment, including server consolidation and switching to energy-efficient hardware. Sprint as a whole has also invested in energy savings programs like installing a wind turbine at its campus, and actively pursuing a cellphone recycling program, among other things.

I live in Lenexa with my wife and 3 cats. I like reading non-fiction (and occasionally the ABA journal), traveling, and watching old movies. I’d like to travel to South America sometime in the next 2 years.

-Victor V

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

