J500 Media and the Environment


About Me: Monica D. by monicadela

It’s good to be back. I took a break from graduate school to take an undergraduate level American Literature overview. The course spanned the 1850s through 1970s. Many American authors from Samuel Clemens (Mark Twain) to Jack Kerouac incorporated environmentalism into their works. We studied Eudora Welty for her perspective on the postbellum South and her use of nature in plot development (i.e. The Wide Net).  In learning more about her life, I came across this quote of hers: “it had been startling and disappointing to me to find out that story books had been written by people, that books were not natural wonders, coming of themselves like grass.” This lovely observation emphasizes the inspiration and wonder of nature. What a celebration of language and the environment.

I love words. My undergraduate degree is in strategic communications from KU’s J-School. I’m a senior editor at Hallmark Cards where I develop and manage content for social expression product. In five years, I’ve worked on all the Everyday card lines (Birthday, Wedding, Baby, Kids, etc.). My current assignment is with Hallmark Sinceramente, the Spanish-language line of cards. It’s really a gift when your work is both personally and professionally fulfilling. My family is Cuban, and I was born and raised in Miami, Florida. The highlight of my career was attending the 2008 Latin Grammys in Houston to promote Spanish “Cards with Sound.”

My team with Juanes

My team with Juanes

Hallmark is taking more initiative to communicate internally and externally that “green” is a corporate strategy.  It’s tricky when you’re a paper-based company. Hallmark has always been an environmentally-conscious company by way of recycling and sustainability efforts. For example, our cafeteria sends waste to a compost facility in Missouri. There is an internal communication campaign to turn computers and office lights off at the end of the day. Crown Center hosts a farmers market during the summer. This past spring Hallmark debuted a line of “green” greeting cards. The paper stock is completely recycled and recyclable. The card back includes an environmentally-friendly tip and manufacturing information. Go show nature and someone that you love them…send a card.

Look! I'm a "green" card.

Look! I'm green.

I enjoy writing, reading non-fiction and watching CSI shows and So You Think You Can Dance. By this time next year, I should be hanging a Marketing Communications Masters diploma in my office.

Monica D,

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

