J500 Media and the Environment


About me: Jennifer E. by jenniferedw
June 14, 2009, 11:47 am
Filed under: J840 Week 1 | Tags: , , ,

I work in the employee communications department for a company in Kansas City. One of our areas of focus for the past few years has been more effectively communicating to employees about all the environmental and social responsibility initiatives occurring within our company. Many employees have a strong interest in hearing about these projects and fully understand the importance of a company being socially responsible. They also want to find ways to be ‘greener’ in the course of their daily work. Because this group is highly engaged, they’re easy to reach and impact with our corporate messages.

My dogs Homer and Martha

My dogs Homer and Martha

However, there are large numbers of employees who I believe have only a passive interest in environmental issues. In this class, I’d like to learn the most effective ways to communicate with this group to convince them to take an interest in the company’s environmental efforts and realize their importance. I’d also like to learn better ways to communicate how an individual employee or team can take small actions that can have a major impact, both environmentally and in terms of cost savings – which is something everyone understands, especially in today’s economic environment.

In addition, I can definitely make improvements in my environmental efforts in my personal life. I’m hoping this class will help inspire me to take additional steps and keep environmental issues top-of-mind inside and outside of work, so that I can properly communicate to others.

I live on the north side of Kansas City with my husband, Mike, and dogs Homer and Martha (see photo). I’ve been in my current job for about two years and prior to it, worked for a financial services company for several years. Before that I worked briefly for two local non-profits. I earned a bachelor’s degree in mass media from Washburn University in Topeka in 2001.

-Jennifer E.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

