J500 Media and the Environment


About Me: Peggy Cox by margaretec
June 13, 2009, 12:21 pm
Filed under: J840 Week 1 | Tags: ,

Hello everyone, my name is Peg (nickname for Margaret) Cox and I’m a new student to the Marketing Program.  I work for J.P. Morgan in the retirement planning division and I feel fortunate to have great work that provides me personal and professional satisfaction.  Our work actually allows retirement plan participants to assess, plan for and reach their retirement goals.

For nearly 30 years I’ve been an outdoor athlete.  Regardless of weather I’ve rarely missed a chance to get my gear on and get outside to run, walk or bicycle.  One of my favorite outdoor adventures was my hike around Jenny Lake a few years ago.  These days my outdoor addiction manifests itself in daily walks with my loyal canine companion, Scout.  I spend any other free time with my friends and my huge family; parents, eight siblings and their families.

 

Scout

Scout

I’m a giant fan of Harvesters, our local community food network.  It’s tough to think about people going hungry in 2009 so I do what I can through running an annual drive at work and donating my time and funds directly.

Although I’ve been recycling for years and my firm is paperless, my serious awakening to climate change was the Al Gore slide show which I saw a number of years ago.  In recent years, I’ve made the incremental changes that many Americans have made:  cloth napkins, no purchased water, fluorescent bulbs, my own bags to the grocery store, etc.  I am excited to learn more about sustainability so I can do more, personally and professionally.

Peg Cox

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

Hi, Peg! Looking forward to seeing you in this class, as well. I think it’ll be fun and really useful.

Comment by carrieshoptaw




Leave a Reply

