J500 Media and the Environment


About Me: Erin Pursel by erinleap
June 11, 2009, 5:32 pm
Filed under: J840 Week 1 | Tags: , , , , , ,

Up until last week, I have spent the past two and half years of my life in the marketing department at large engineering and architecture firm here in Kansas City. The division I worked in is the “internal headquarters” so to speak for sustainability initiatives for the company. The division is very focused on increasing the number of LEED® APs the company has and the number and type of projects designed and constructed to be LEED® accredited through the United States Green Building Council. The company is also very focused on green initiatives and has implemented many green aspects into its headquarters building, including a green roof, pervious pavement parking lots, a bioswell, rain garden and a photovoltaic system, to name a few. Needless to say, I have been fully immersed in “green culture” for the past couple of years while working there.

Although I loved the fact my company was so into the green movement, it was about the only thing I liked about working there, so I decided to do the unthinkable in this economy and leave my full time job to enroll full time into grad school. Currently, I am working part time in the marketing communications department for a company that engineers and manufactures energy efficient treatment and pumping systems for the water and wastewater industry. I’m happy to say the new company I work for is just as concerned with sustainability and is eager to learn ways to communicate with its clients to be more environmentally conscious. They are particularly interested in communicating ways municipalities can use stimulus funding to improve the country’s water and wastewater systems through the use of more energy efficient pumping and treatment systems.

On top of the Arc de Triomphe in one of my favorite cities, Paris (Oct. 2008)

On top of the Arc de Triomphe in one of my favorite cities, Paris (Oct. 2008)

On a personal note, I grew up in West Des Moines, IA and moved to Kansas City in 1997 when my dad was transferred for a job, but I still very much consider Iowa my home. I am a 2006 graduate of the KU j-school and a diehard Jayhawk fan. I have the unfortunate fate of coming from a family of Mizzou and UNC fans so NCAA basketball season is always an intense time for the Pursels. (I still think it’s perfectly acceptable to mention our 2008 National Championship anytime we lose a game as a way to somehow justify the loss as a dignified loss, if there ever is one). I have no hubby or kids but I do have two cats, Bosco and Daphne, so that counts for something, right?

-Erin Pursel

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

