J500 Media and the Environment


Defining Food by meganr21
May 1, 2009, 2:44 pm
Filed under: Society + Media | Tags: , , , , ,
Field Equipment Operations Class

Field Equipment Operations Class

Growing up in Los Angeles my definition of a farm came from a field trip I took in first grade –we drove out of the city to visit cows and see corn grow. This interaction led me to believe that food isn’t grown in the city and except for the occasional garden. After high school I went to an Ag school where I learned how to drive a tractor and plow a field. Classes like this did nothing but reinforce my previous idea of what agriculture in the United States is.

Working with KCCUA, Cross-Lines and Drumm Farm has thrown me for a loop, my definition of food and agriculture has been re-defined many times this semester. I’ve learned that food can be successfully grown within city limits and farms have many roles in the community. Urban agriculture can provide health and nutrition, combat poverty, and educate children. Unbeknownst to many people agriculture exists in our own backyard and it is thriving.

The banana tree in our front yard.

The banana tree in our front yard.

 Food has always played a huge role in my life, but KCCUA has helped give that food a face. It’s not just something from the grocery store anymore, food is grown by real people. I’ll shortly be leaving Kansas to move back to California and hope to embolden my friends and neighbors to support local produce and grow their own. My parents have already begun to grow tomatoes, herbs, nopales (prickly pear cactus), lemons, strawberries, even bananas. I can’t wait to try it all. 

 

-Megan Richards

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

You make a great point about urban ag combating poverty and educating kids. I’m so jealous that your parents are growing their own bananas!

Comment by mackenzies09

I think we’ve had such a great opportunity working with these farms, it seems like it’s been a real eye opener to everyone about the many roles that urban agriculture plays.

I’m excited about the bananas, it’s pretty cool that the weather allows so much stuff to grow – but it’s terrible for other things, it never gets cold enough for stone fruits. I’m really looking forward to going home and digging up the back yard to plant even more.

Comment by meganr21




Leave a Reply

