J500 Media and the Environment


A Tasty Experience by mstinawood
May 1, 2009, 11:55 am
Filed under: Food + Health, Local Events + Action | Tags: , , ,

Like with any old friend, relationships develop and grow over time. My relationship with one of my best friends, food, has grown dramatically over the past few months. Thanks to the people in class and my experiences with KCCUA, I have developed a new appreciation for what goes in my mouth.

Before visiting the KCCUA farm, I didn’t know what to expect of an urban farm. It turned out to be a small plot of land tucked away between overpasses and highways. If you didn’t know it was there you would, most likely, pass it by. The bustling surroundings were in stark contrast to the calm of the beautiful green house filled with the smell of moist earth and rich colors. Just visiting the farm inspired me to get involved with nature and get more informed about my food.

I had a great time interviewing two beekeepers for the Farm Tour this summer. Had I not gotten involved with KCCUA, I would have never voluntarily gotten that close to a bee colony. The vibrating buzz of the bees flying through my hair was pretty intimidating, but I held my ground. I’ve been spreading the good word about the benefits of local honey ever since. It’s a great remedy for seasonal allergies, an all natural sweetner.. I could go on and on.

This experience has helped make me a more informed consumer and a more conscious eater. I’m looking forward to this year’s harvests and the bounty yet to come. For the bounty nearest you, visit your farmer’s market featuring, my new friend, local food.

Tina Wood

Photo Credit

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

We are all glad you survived that harrowing bee experience. But I guess bees will be bees. And now you’ve become an unofficial spokesperson for local honey! You definitely gained some serious street cred.

Comment by mackenzies09

I had a great time getting to know you and everyone in class this semester. Our trip to KCCUA discussions about food, justice, living a better life, and ways to inform others about what we learn has been one of the most enriching experiences I’ve been a part of. I’ll miss our class and everyone in it.

Comment by christinaw09




Leave a Reply

