J500 Media and the Environment


Frankentwinkie by mackenzies09
January 28, 2009, 3:51 pm
Filed under: Food + Health, Society + Media | Tags: , ,

Reading about Steve Ettlinger’s discoveries for “Twinkie, Deconstructed” was like watching a horror flick. I wanted to stop reading, look away from the screen and yet I couldn’t. The industrial uses for common food additives are terrifying. If ingredients can strip concrete floors (citric acid) and kill plant life (ferrous sulfate), what will they do to my intestines?

And even though I can’t remember the last time I consumed a Twinkie, I do have a thing for chocolate covered pretzels. I’m sure those little suckers are  ripe with intestine-hating chemicals. The idea that we consume derivatives of petroleum, sorbic acid, is the hardest for me to digest. I realize there are many uses of petroleum, but the word conjures images of Hexxus, the evil oil slick in FernGully. I hate that guy.

If people had a better grasp of what they put in their mouths I think they would make some changes. But people won’t empty their kitchens and start anew with only local and organic products. It just isn’t realistic. I’m really curious how much more it would cost to recreate the original 1930s recipe for the Twinkie, the one with a 2-3 day shelf life.

In this case, ignorance is not bliss. Especially when your beloved pet or child dies from consuming tainted food products. My intestines hold no sanctuary for Hexxus.

Growing up, my mom made just about everything from scratch, especially desserts. She knew it was better for us and it cost a lot less than packaged goods. It was a great way to growup, I will always appreciate that my mom made the extra effort. I just wish I had picked up on some of her baking skills.

– Mackenzie

Thanks to youtube for the video.

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I have a thing for yogurt-covered pretzels. Good things they are.

And baking isn’t that tough — I basically taught myself from scratch (no pun intended). Desserts are much yummier when they are made in your kitchen!

Comment by jessicasb

I should tryout that vegan twinkie recipe you provided Jessica. Or, maybe that’s too much for a beginner!

Comment by mackenzies09

While I totally agree that as a whole people won’t empty their kitchens, there’s always a place to start. Just because you can’t reach everyone, if you convince one person to change their ways it’s a start and they will end up influencing other people.

Comment by meganr21




Leave a Reply

