J500 Media and the Environment


About Me: Amanda Thompson by j500
January 21, 2009, 10:12 am
Filed under: About Us

amanda

My name is Amanda Thompson.  I’m 20 years old and a junior at KU, majoring in Journalism and Environmental Studies. I studied abroad in Bonn, Germany for a semester last year, but unfortunately do not have time with two majors to finish my German minor. A wasted semester in terms of credits, but the best experience of my life by far. If you haven’t stayed out until sunrise at a techno-fabulous German night club, you haven’t lived!

I’m a reporter for the Kansan this semester for the “Planet Health” beat. I’m also designing for the Kansan. I’ve always been interested in doing environmental writing, setting such lofty goals for myself as working for National Geographic someday. My sister has made that goal seem a little closer, as she is interning with National Geographic Traveler magazine. Thanks to her, I was able to get a photo (about the size of your thumb nail, but oh well!) in the magazine because of one of the articles she wrote. It’s the little things that count…

What else to say…I’m an avid animal lover. I frequent the Lawrence Humane Society as a volunteer, and have a few critters of my own. Unfortunately, I’m allergic to almost everything I touch, including most animals.  My allergist even told me I was allergic to celery… Life is cruel sometimes.

I’m excited to meet you all and get started in the class!

4 Comments so far
Leave a comment

That’s pretty cool about National Geographic! What issue is it in?

Comment by tylerw09

This is crazy! I’m a journalism and environmental studies major with a minor in German! I never thought someone else would do something this insane. 🙂

Comment by Lauren Keith

Hey! You were in my editing lab last semester, yes? Awesome stuff.

Comment by abbyo42

Amanda,
I was born in Germany and am an environmental journalist so I feel close to you and Lauren! And I have never met anyone allergic to celery before.
I look forward to your insights this semester.
Simran

Comment by j500




Leave a Reply

