J500 Media and the Environment


Messages for a Different Kind of Policymaker by brookec08
November 7, 2008, 5:34 pm
Filed under: Society + Media | Tags: , , , ,

<!–[if gte mso 9]> Normal 0 false false false EN-US X-NONE X-NONE MicrosoftInternetExplorer4 <![endif]–><!–[if gte mso 9]> <![endif]–>After spending the last month speaking with politicians and researching how to speak to them, I now have the challenge of framing messages for a different kind of policymaker, the CEO and board of directors of my company. While the CEO and the board are a different kind of policymaker than the city, county and state representatives my group spoke with, I believe the approach to communicate with them will be similar.

My first challenge will be to educate the audience on the benefits of embracing sustainability and being socially responsible. I think this will have a greater impact if I can successfully educate them on the risks of inaction as well. Secondly, I think it will be important to gather support from employees at all levels of our organization. If management realizes that sustainability is a priority of a majority of employees, that might encourage them to make it a higher priority on their own lists. Just as we found that politicians value the priorities of their constituents, I think the same will hold true for the leaders of my organization.

The final element that will help me be successful is to present a plan of action. By developing goals and then showing them how those goals can be met, I think it will help the CEO and the board see that this is an attainable mission. Being part of this class has definitely armed me with more knowledge, so I will be able to speak intelligently to our policymakers and hopefully make a difference in the impact my company has on the environment now and in the future.

Brooke Connell

 

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

It’s a great point you make about attacking the problem from top and bottom. Getting buy-in from management is imperative. But if the employees become champions and start pestering management a bit, progress seems to happen.

You’ll have opportunities to push for important initiatives in your “green” position at Terracon. And I would think having a course like this under your belt will put some more weight behind your words!

Comment by chrisr11

Best of luck. With blessing from the top, you’re well on your way. Looking forward to seeing something at Terracon come to life!

Comment by jenjenku

Chris and Jen- Yes, hopefully I can use some of the strategies that several groups presented to encourage employees at all levels to want to participate in our effort. It should be an exciting and interesting next few months to see what I can make happen.

I enjoyed having both of you in class. Good luck with the rest of the semester!

Comment by brookec08




Leave a Reply

