J500 Media and the Environment


A wider worldview of green by hilarywright
November 7, 2008, 6:25 pm
Filed under: Business + Politics | Tags: , ,

Before this class, my worldview of environmental issues was limited to what I would call a “heal the world-touchy-feely” paradigm. I thought of the issues in terms of making the world a clean and healthy place that creates a good environment for humans and animals to live and continue to live in the future. Some of the conclusions within this worldview are: air pollution is bad because it’s unhealthy to breath; water pollution is bad because it kills fish and is unhealthy to drink; and deforestation is bad because it kills plants and animals. The list goes on.

These types of issues are certainly important, but they don’t necessarily represent the full circle. Further, this worldview made it difficult to believe or understand that groups like politicians and businesses, which are often thought of as non-human (as in The Story of Stuff), would have an interest in the environment.

Being in this class combined with being in the policymaker group has widened my worldview to complete a fuller circle. Our group was challenged to link policymakers’ needs to the environment, which meant going outside the feel-good message of my worldview and exploring other aspects and benefits of the issues.

I believe my group was successful at meeting our challenges and developing relevant messaging for CEP and their policymaking audience. I am very happy with the way my group worked together and the outcomes we will deliver tomorrow in class. On another note, I thought the project assignment was designed very well in terms of the deliverables expected and the built in individual and group accountability. 

 

//explore.toshiba.com/innovation-lab/green

A more complete worldview sprouts new understanding. Originally used on http://explore.toshiba.com/innovation-lab/green

 

-Hilary Wright

4 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Hilary:

I enjoyed your presentation yesterday. Loved the hook at the beginning! Great information all around.

I also think it’s interesting the notions we have about policymakers and what they care about. Politics has gotten so cynical, and our view as the electorate has gotten so jaded. We just assume the motivations and opinions of politicians are only self-serving. They’ll do anything to get elected and stay in office. Such a damaging stereotype. Makes it tough to be a policymaker. What were some of the specific assumptions you had about policymakers before you started this project, and what did you find that surprised you? Or validated you?

Cheri

Comment by cherileb

Hilary, after seeing your group’s presentation yesterday, I better understand the challenges that you faced when talking with policymakers about clean energy and other environmental issues.

I think of politicians as a way for change to occur, and politicians’ green policies affect how I vote.

Since policymakers are concerned with what their constituents are concerned with, hopefully more Kansas voters will demand and vote for policies that are good for the environment and for the state. I think the other groups (business, labor etc.) explored in class will play a big role in motivating that thinking, though.

Good job on your group’s presentation.

Stacey

Comment by staceyc08

Hilary,
Your presentation yesterday was great. I must admit, the policy makers group was the one that scared me the most when it came time to choose our preferences. I guess I find that sector overwhelming in the fact that there is so much to know and sharing information with others must be done vey carefully in order to not send the right message. I think your sector, along with health care has the most responsibility (and the most opportunity!) to educate the common person in environmental concerns. Excellent job sharing information, it was easy to digest and it was clear you had done your homework!

Comment by michellemcgown

Thanks everyone for the praise on our presentation.

Cheri- I had and still have a decent amount of cynicism about politics. I think there’s definitely a mix of good and bad in politics, which is unfortunate because as a voter it’s not always easy to recognize the good from the bad. It’s tough to judge positive actions as well, for example is it good that policymakers are concerned with what their constituents want? At first reaction, I’d say yes, but then what if it means they change their positions in order to reflect changes in what the majority wants? It becomes pretty tricky. Are they wishy-washy, or are they just trying to be representative of the people?

I think the thing that surprised me the most in our dealing with policymakers is how accessible they were. It makes me wonder if they would set aside time to speak with any voter who asked for it. I imagine that doesn’t happen very often, so perhaps they would at least on the city/state level.

Comment by hilarywright




Leave a Reply

