J500 Media and the Environment


Will you still frame me tomorrow? by hilarywright
October 24, 2008, 6:05 pm
Filed under: Business + Politics, Society + Media | Tags: , ,

Trust no one. 

Especially in politics. Well, that is except for the politician I’ll be interviewing this Monday for our CEP project, of course.

All sarcasm aside, my group and CEP face a unique challenge when it comes to framing the energy debate for an audience of policy makers.

I believe John Wilson said it pretty well when he posted,

What policy makers actually care about, versus what they say they care about, are sometimes light-years different. They care most about survival… There’s a good chance that the economic angle of climate change–long-term cost savings, job creation, tax revenue, will be guiding points for lawmakers (at least this year).”

I have no trust in politicians. Perhaps this is in part due to the fact that it is completely unheard of for me to find a candidate I agree with on even 60 percent of the issues. Take for example the Candidate Calculator Rebecca posted last week. My results came in with a 33 percent match for Obama, a 33 percent match for McCain, and the rest was split up among the other candidates. When there’s no straightforward answer, you can see how this might turn one away from politics.

If I can’t trust a politician to do what is good for me, let alone anyone else, then how can I trust the government to come to the planet’s rescue? If I can’t trust a politician to speak for me, then how can Mother Nature trust a politician to speak for her? Politicians do what is good for them; what will get them the most votes, the most money, and the most time in office.

As John said above, they care about their survival. They will say and do whatever they need to survive now. Tomorrow’s keys to survival may be different and therefore will require a different set of verbiage and action items.

Keeping this is mind, my group and CEP will have to move forward knowing that policymakers are a fickle bunch, and the right framing today will be the wrong framing tomorrow.

 

From the Christian Science Monitor

From the Christian Science Monitor

 

-Hilary Wright

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Your thoughts remind me of the video we watched during the first class weekend. The one where then-candidate George Bush pledged to manage carbon dioxide emissions if elected president. His team obviously felt that’s the way the issue needed to be framed at the time. And, of course, his pledge changed within a few months.

I don’t trust politicians much more than you do. Our current system being what it is, we don’t have much choice but to pressure them to make promises, then pressure them even more to keep those promises.

Comment by chrisr11

Exactly. That video was a perfect example of one of the many reasons I find politicians untrustworthy.

The problem is that I’m unsure our current system works, and I’m unsure about whether it will ever change. Many factors such as uneducated voters who are swayed by so-called “debates,” big businesses that can back their pressures with money, and so many others make a mockery of what was intended when this government was formed.

In the end, I wonder if people who I feel are most like me will be strong enough in numbers and in willpower and hope to bother to pressure the government to keep the promises that matter.

Comment by hilarywright




Leave a Reply

