J500 Media and the Environment


Green Products and Marketing: Let’s Dig In by chrisr11
October 16, 2008, 11:24 pm
Filed under: Business + Politics | Tags: , , , , ,

Join me as I dig into thoughts on green products and marketing.

Chris Ronan

7 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Chris, I completely dig and Digg (http://digg.com/) your post. More to follow.
Simran

Comment by j500

Chris, this is awesome!

As a skeptical consumer, I find it incredibly frustrating when a product or brand that has no business making claims about environmental safety does, and then find out later that they’re false.

I’m not surprised to read the results of the on Eco-Buyer awareness, but I was shocked to learn how saturated the market is with products that say one thing and *are* another.

Comment by marisabreg

That third paragraph was supposed to read:

I’m not surprised to read the results of the Time article on Eco-Buyer awareness, but I was shocked to learn how saturated the market is with products that say one thing and *are* another.

I was trying to get all fancy with in-comment linking.

Comment by marisabreg

Wow, well done Chris! (Great production value, I must say… I Dugg you, too.)

I loved your comments about how you didn’t know to check for a #7 on bottles until someone told you, and that we as concerned citizens have a responsibility to spread the word to others. Like David Clark was saying, our interpersonal relationships are the strongest tool we have to communicate with others. Spread the word!

Comment by mindeeforman

Chris-

All I have to say is “WOW!” That was awesome! I echo your comment in video about #7 plastics. I wasn’t aware of that either. Frequently, the biggest challenge is often just raising awareness.

Comment by shawng

I think one of the most dangerous side effects of misleading marketing is how it leads consumers like you and me to be ever more skeptical, to the point where we’re skeptical of companies producing things that really are “green.” A bad apple spoils the bunch. (Or, in this case, the bad bunch spoils the one good apple!)

Comment by chrisr11

So how do we keep cynicism from setting in so we can all hit, um, paydirt?
Simran

Comment by j500




Leave a Reply

