J500 Media and the Environment


About Me: John Wilson by johncwilson
October 10, 2008, 3:17 pm
Filed under: Society + Media

I’m a little late to the party, but here is a bit of information about me. I can’t wait to meet you all.

I graduated from the University of Kansas with a Bachelor of Fine Arts in Design with an emphasis in Visual Communication. I am fortunate to have lived in K.K. Amini Scholarship Hall, where I developed lifelong friends and deep connections to campus life. While much of my life was consumed by late-night design projects, I made it a priority to volunteer and give back to the community that had already given me so much. Working with universty administrators and students, I helped create the Center for Service Learning, which emphasizes service through academic curriculum. I worked on the Harvard National Campaign for Civic and Political Engagement, organized fine arts students to raise hundreds of thousands of dollars for the school, and worked as an orientation assistant helping new students and their families as they transitioned to college life. Furthermore, I was honored to serve as the co-director of the Center for Community Outreach, a campus-based nonprofit that connects KU students to volunteer opportunities on campus and in Lawrence. I have recently been appointed to the Ecumenical Christian Ministries Board of Directors, and look forward to continued involvement in other community organizations.

Following my walk down Mount Oread, I headed to New York City to work for The William J. Clinton Foundation, a non-profit charitable organization. While there, I became inspired and motivated by President Clinton’s belief that companies, communities, and individuals have an enormous capacity to “do well by doing good”. For the past two years I’ve worked with the Alliance for a Healthier Generation, a partnership between the Clinton Foundation and the American Heart Association. The goal of the Alliance is to reduce the prevalence of childhood obesity in the United States by working with schools, food and beverage companies, health care organizations, and directly with young people themselves. After nearly two years in New York, I decided to return to Lawrence. In addition to this drive to return to “the nest”, I was also drawn back by the quality and pace of life and sense of community in Lawrence.

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

Welcome, John! We looking forward to working with you and CEP.
Simran

Comment by j500




Leave a Reply

