J500 Media and the Environment


About Me: Liz Hawks by lizhawks
October 9, 2008, 3:28 pm
Filed under: Society + Media

Greetings!

I’m Liz Hawks and no, my middle initial is not J.

I am in my eighth semester of the program and, as such, am very much looking forward to the day that I can say, “this is finally my last semester!”

I am a Vice President at Fleishman-Hillard. We are an international communications firm with 80 offices worldwide. I work with fun, creative clients like Hallmark and a little more stale, heavily-regulated clients like those managing clinical trials. Additionally, I am founding co-chair of the firm’s global marketing-to-moms practice group (essentially a consultancy within the firm), which is my passion. Did you know moms make 85% of household purchase decisions, yet 70% don’t think marketers are targeting them? My goal is to help clients bridge the gap.

Before coming to FH six years ago, I worked for Habitat for Humanity’s ReStore (www.restorekc.org) here in KC. This is the part where I tell you about my “green” side. ReStore’s mission is to support the construction of houses by Kansas City Habitat for Humanity through the collection and sale of new and used building materials diverted from the waste stream, keeping them out of our landfills and in circulation where they can benefit the Kansas City community. Have you remodeled your home? Thrown out a sink or window with that remodel? Guess what — you could have saved that from filling up our local landfills by donating it to ReStore AND you would have at the same time helped Habitat build new houses for families in need.

Outside of FH and KU (and catching up on my sleep whenever and wherever I can steal it) the most important part of my life happens to be two little guys, ages 1 and 2, who are the reasons for that part about needing to catch up on my sleep. Graham and Reid have both entered my life while I’ve been a student in this program and thus proof that it is possible to be a full-time working mom and still get a master’s degree! (And to all of you who have mentioned coffee here…cheers to that!)

We love mommy almost as much as we love Elmo

We love mommy almost as much as we love Elmo

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Liz, I applaud your incredible balancing act. You really seem to embody sustainability in all its manifestations. I look forward to meeting you soon.
Simran

Comment by j500

Liz–I think your “marketing to moms” is a very interesting market segment! Have you seen the section in the KC Star’s Monday FYI section geared towards mothers? I always find it so interesting to read!

Comment by susang09




Leave a Reply

