J500 Media and the Environment


About Me: Cheri LeBlond by cherileb
October 9, 2008, 10:55 pm
Filed under: Society + Media

You know, I always thought my parents were a little crazy. When I was 10, we moved from a prosperous Minneapolis middle-class suburb to a hobby farm in rural Minnesota.  It was a fixer-upper to say the least, but the 18 acres of pasture were filled with wildflowers and places to get very dirty.  Kid heaven.  Despite spending my summers and winters chopping wood, pulling weeds in the vegetable garden, breaking the ice in the stock tanks, cleaning barns and pretty much living in sleeping bags, I think I miss those days.  Because I’m back to living in a prosperous suburb and now I think I’m a little crazy.  I feel like I’ve lost that close connection with nature and the outdoors. 

  

I hope in this class to learn about green connections and viewpoints and how to recognize them and define them.  And how they spill into the business world.  It seems these days so many issues, like those surrounding environment, are so polarized.  Listening seems to be a lost art.  But I think opposing viewpoints need to be communicated with respect and clarity, and then heard with respect and clarity.  Consensus can be an elusive but critical component to making quality change in the world.

 

Let’s hope I can communicate that to my eight-year-old.  I’ve been taking care of him full-time since I put my freelance publication career into mothballs eight years ago.  Before he was born, I wrote, edited and designed business publications for large, small and nonprofit clients.  Now that my son is older and more independent, I decided to start freelancing again and go back to school to get my masters in Marketing Communications.  (I received a B.A. in Journalism/Political Science at the University of Wisconsin-Madison.)  This is my first semester at KU.  My goal is to eventually offer clients a fuller package of services that might include marketing research and strategic planning.  In my meager free time, I love sailing, tennis, mystery novels, reading the comics with my son and watching KU basketball with my husband.

 

We have a really interesting group of people in the class.  I look forward to getting to know you all better.  See you Friday.  By the way, this is only my second attempt at archery.  I was way off target.  No injuries reported.

  By the way, this is only my second attempt at archery.  I was way off target.  No injuries reported.      

 

4 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Cheri,
Thanks for your post. I think it’s also important to think about the people in urban environments who have never had that connection to nature. I look forward to exploring this with you.
Simran

Comment by j500

I, too, was raised on a hobby farm — 80 acres. And, I, too, wanted desparately to live elsewhere at the time — specifically, closer to my friends in town. Now that I have kids myself and spend my days in an office and nights in classes, I desparately miss the wide open spaces of my youth!
Liz

Comment by lizhawks

Cheri–you bring a great personality and energy to the class discussions. It’s been fun getting to know you this weekend!

Comment by susang09

Hey dude-

It’s your bro clogging up your ecology on the blogosphere! Nice bio. The sleeping bag reference was a little weird. Do you think anyone understands that? Anyways, I like your posts so far. I’ve bookmarked ya and will give a shout out to you on my blog. See ya on the ‘sphere, sis.

Ken

Comment by fernsehturm




Leave a Reply

