J500 Media and the Environment


ABOUT ME: MICHELLE McGOWN by michellemcgown
October 6, 2008, 9:14 pm
Filed under: Society + Media | Tags: ,

Hi Everyone! I’m enrolled in the Masters of Architectural Management program at the Edwards campus and currently work at Hollis + Miller architects in Overland Park. I attended K-State and graduated in 2005. My interests at work go beyond architecture in the traditional sense; I have far more interest in marketing and other “big picture” ideas. Although architecture is my paying job, I also have an interesting side job/hobby. After graduating college, I helped my parents start a business marketing hydroponically grown vegetables. You might have seen our Living Basil in local KC stores. Our company is Cal-Ann Farms.

I’ve been married for about a year and a half to my high-school sweetheart of almost 10 years. We live just down the street from my office in Overland Park. Ty is a chemical engineer at Burns and McDonnell.

With our family business having much to do about sustainable farming and architecture being even more connected to affects on the environment I’m looking forward to this class to find some deeper meaning to promoting green initiatives. With everyone jumping on the bandwagon and “going green” I worry that many companies and individuals don’t know what they’re even trying to promote. The class should be a great learning experience.

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Michelle, I think your concerns about everyone “going green” are justified. We are really going to try to separate authentic green from greenwash within this class. And, while our focus is energy, we will look at how our use of energy impacts agriculture and farmers, as well.
Simran

Comment by j500

Michelle–That’s so cool that your husband works for Burns and Mac–my dad used to work for them! It was great meeting you this weekend.

Comment by susang09




Leave a Reply

