J500 Media and the Environment


About me: Hilary Wright by hilarywright
October 4, 2008, 9:19 am
Filed under: Society + Media

: School & Work :
I am in my fourth semester of the Marketing Communications program at KU and plan to graduate in the fall of 2009. My undergraduate degrees come from Truman State University and are in Communication and Business Marketing. My current employer is iModules, which is a technology company that deals primarily in the education sector and provides software for online communication. We are in the beginning stages of planning a green campaign to educate our clients and prospects on how to “go green” in their office. Because our products and services allow our clients to move their communication to an online format, a green campaign ties in nicely with our marketing message.

: Other Interests :
Since my years in undergraduate school, I have been highly involved in lindy hop swing dance. I am the cofounder of the Kansas City Lindy Hop Society, a nonprofit organization focused on promoting and educating the greater Kansas City area on African American Vernacular Jazz Dances of the 1920s-1940s. Within this community, I am a teacher, social dancer, DJ, and event planner. Tied to this interest is my passion for 1920-40s jazz and blues, soul, and motown. In the future, I hope to pursue these interests in my professional life in a way that allows me to mix my professional skills with my passions.

Growing up with a teacher for a parent, I have always had a keen sense for education; thus, after completing my masters, I also intend to pursue teaching opportunities in programs similar to KU’s Marketing Communications program.

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I saw that Misty May-Treanor injured herself on “Dancing with the Stars” performing the Lindy Hop! Thought of you. Be careful out there! 🙂

Comment by lizhawks

Hilary, It sounds like you have a very interesting life. I look forward to learning more. Education is such an important way to transmit this information. I hope that you will share more about the ways in which your company can facilitate greening in its software.
Simran

Comment by j500

Hilary, you did a good job presenting for your group today. You have a good voice and good thoughts–you’ll make a great “storyteller!” 🙂

Comment by susang09




Leave a Reply

