J500 Media and the Environment


About Me: Susan Gelvin by susang09
October 2, 2008, 4:40 pm
Filed under: Society + Media

My name is Susan Gelvin and I’m the student assistant for Simran’s Journalism 840 “Communicating Green Inititives” course.  This is my first time working as a student assistant as well as my first experience with a blog so bear with me! 🙂

A little bit more about me than I discussed in the email: I’ve always enjoyed being outdoors and found I could apply that interest to degrees in the environmental field.  My parents always took my brother and I on camping trips to national parks when we were growing up and I feel that helped me develop a “green” outlook on life.  When I was at K-State I took classes in marketing and economics and at KU I got my bachelor’s degree in environmental studies.  One of my classes in environmental studies was taught by a professor from the urban planning department and she peaked my interest in environmental urban planning.  Once I got my bachelor’s, I knew I wanted to apply for the KU Urban Planning program.

As it is now, I’ll be graduating with my master’s in environmental urban planning in May.  I have no idea where I want to go with it but I’m excited to have a chance to positively influence my surroundings with what I’ve learned along the way.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

