J500 Media and the Environment


Blogging: There’s more to it than you think! by lindsaycr
April 27, 2008, 8:02 am
Filed under: Society + Media | Tags: ,

As the school year comes to an end, I find myself looking back on all that I have learned in my Media and the Environment class. I have to admit that when the semester first started, I was a little intimidated by the Internet component of this class.

Up until January, I had rarely heard the term blog, let alone actually written one. But after jumping into this task head first, I feel very comfortable with writing blogs. I even did a Google Search on myself and I found links to my various class blogs.

Not only will I be able to show off my work to my friends and family this way, potential employers will also be able to get a glimpse of my work on the web.

The main reason I signed up for this class was because I was interested in learning the adverse effects that climate change is having on our world. I also wanted to learn ways in which I could become more eco-friendly so that I could not only change my own lifestyle, but also the lifestyles of my friends and family too.

After taking this class, I am not only more aware of my own consumption, but other people’s consumption as well. There have been several times where I picked an aluminum can out of the trash and put it in the recycle bin just a few feet away. I even got my mother to purchase reusable bags for the grocery store and am very proud that she is actually using them!

While I realize that all of these steps are small, I feel good that I am slowly becoming more environmentally friendly. I think that large corporations are not going to change the world, but rather individuals who make that decision and then influence others. I am proud to say that I am now one of those kinds of people, and that hopefully, if we all work together, we can give back more than we have already taken from our beautiful planet.

Photo courtesy of Google.

Lindsay

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Thank you, Lindsay. I am pleased that this work has evolved from thought to action! The media plays a very powerful role in shaping and disseminating this information and I hope you will be able to continue your green efforts in the future.
Simran

Comment by j500

Lindsay,

It’s been great having you in class. I’ve really enjoyed reading about your experiences. Plus, knowing how much work you’ve been doing (and the crazy hours you’ve had to keep), I’m really impressed with your ability to pull it all off!

Anyway, like I said in my response to your comment on my post…this sure beats the previous class we shared together!

Good luck!
Ranjit

Comment by rarab

Simran,
Thanks to all that I learned this semester, I definitely think I will continue my environmental efforts in the future! I don’t think that any other class has encouraged me to take action as much as this one.

Ranjit,
I agree that this has been a crazy semester! It’s been great getting to know you in class and hearing all your ideas about the environment. I don’t think I know anyone who is as passionate about their work as you! I wish I could be more like you in expressing my own opinions. It has been great getting to know you these past two years. Good luck to you and I hope that our paths will cross again in the future!

Lindsay

Comment by Lindsay




Leave a Reply

