J500 Media and the Environment


I’m just trying to find that bridge… by denah

Paul McCartney once said, “If anyone wants to save the planet, all they have to do is stop eating meat. That’s the single most important thing you can do.” It seems that GoVeg.com is also a key supporter of this statement. The United Nations argues that the meat industry “emerges as one of the top two or three most significant contributors to the most serious environmental problem at every scale from local to global.”

This is when I start to feel a bit guilty stopping for a quarter pounder at McDonalds on 23rd street last week because I thought it was convenient. In reality, my laziness led to increases in carbon dioxide, methane and nitrous oxide emissions, which is only hurting our planet even more. After taking numerous approaches to become eco-friendly (using a aluminum reusable water bottle, consciously turning off lights when not in use, and turning off the water when I brush my teeth in the morning), I still have not been able to take that step towards vegetarianism. Yet, I want to save the world. I want my children to be able to enjoy beautiful landscapes, just like the KU campus. I have to wonder how I am going to begin to walk across that bridge towards this ultimate goal of saving the planet.

Fortunately, the city of Lawrence is two steps ahead of me. Lawrencesustainability.net has shown me multiple ways to begin my trek on that bridge towards saving our planet. Food joints like Local Burger support Lawrence’s local farmers by advocating the humane treatment of animals. Local Burger also recycles and composts their organic waste. The Community Mercantile’semphasis on natural and organic foods, as well as local foods exhibits their attempts to save the world, too. Amy’s Meats is also a prime example of efforts to save the world and be able to eat delicious meats. I understand where Paul McCartney and the United Nations are coming from in their attempts to show awareness about the benefits of being a vegetarian. At the same time, some unique food establishments in Lawrence speak in a way that I agree with: enjoying meat with this ideal of saving Mother Nature at the same time. What do you think? Is it better to support these innovative approaches of saving our planet by eating organic, hormone-free meat? Or is it just easier to become a vegetarian?

picture taken from

http://www.goveg.com/environment-globalwarming.asp

This right here is the one of the largest and significant contributors to today’s environmental problem. But they look so innocent!

Dena Hart

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

