J500 Media and the Environment


Hi Dena! Dena Hart by denah

picture-057.jpg

(that’s me at the Mediterranean Sea in Tel Aviv, Israel last January)

I come from a northwest suburb of Chicago (Buffalo Grove) of about 40,000 people. My graduating class in high school had over 1,000 people. Let’s just say there was never a dull moment. I am the daughter of a Rabbi (which I try to tell myself doesn’t mean anything…but it really does.) My father’s congregation has almost 1000 families (so our family motto is “You can run…but you can’t hide.”) If anyone likes bad television like myself and has seen the show 7th Heaven (which is no longer on TV, but has re-runs on ABC family)…that is my life in a nutshell (except for the fact that we don’t have random homeless, abandoned, or run-away people living in our house). Having my father be a local celeb, life has certainly been made for the public eye (which during my early teenage years I had to learn the hard way.)

I came to KU because I did not get into my top 2 schools (let’s just say KU was my safety.) It ended up being one of the best decisions I have ever made. I wanted to get away from home to start a new life. If anything, I have realized what is important. In the end, being Jewish has been apart of my everyday life and apart of everything that I believe. Being Jewish is how I got interested in the environment. The whole ‘environmenalist’ thing is still very new to me, and that is why I am taking this class. To learn and to be inspired. I am a junior majoring in Psychology with a minor in Judaic Studies. I am currently working at KU Hillel (a Jewish student organization on campus) as a cook. (I cook for Shabbat meals, events, etc.) Who knows where life will take me…

Likes: Days of Our Lives (I told you, I love bad TV), kitties, steak, my family, the colors green and purple, being Jewish, friends, laughing, being original, camp, coffee, Israel, traveling, deep discussions about the meaning of life, etc.

-Dena Hart

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

[…] Hi Dena! Dena Hart (that’s me at the Mediterranean Sea in Tel Aviv, Israel last January) I come from a northwest suburb of Chicago (Buffalo Grove) of about 40,000 people. My graduating class in high school had over 1,000 people. Let’s just say there was never a dull moment. I am the daughter of a Rabbi (which I try to tell myself doesn’t mean anything…but it really does.) My father’s congregation has almost 1000 families (so our family motto is “You can run…but you can’t hide.”) If anyone likes bad television like myself and has seen the show 7th Heaven (which is no longer on TV, but has re-runs on ABC family)…that is my life in a nutshell (except for the fact that we don’t have random homeless, abandoned, or run-away people living in our house). Having my father be a local celeb, life has certainly been made for the public eye (which during my early teenage years I had to learn the hard way.) I came to KU because I did not get into my top 2 schools (let’s just say KU was my safety.) It ended up being one of the best decisions I have ever made. I wanted to get away from home […] […]

Pingback by 7th Heaven » Blog Archive » Hi Dena! Dena Hart




Leave a Reply

