J500 Media and the Environment


About Me: Lindsay Crupper by lindsaycr
February 19, 2008, 3:07 pm
Filed under: Society + Media

I am a 24-year-old graduate student who was born and raised in Kansas City, but had yet to step foot into Lawrence until I started school here in August 2006.

I went to college at Marquette University in probably my most favorite city in the world, Milwaukee. Don’t laugh if you have never been there because it is truly awesome. The people are friendly, there are tons of fun things to do, and there is literally a bar on every corner. My freshman dorm was closer to four bars then it was to class!

After graduating with a degree in broadcast journalism, I was pretty sure that people would be throwing jobs at me. Unfortunately, they weren’t.

I ended up meeting an ophthalmologist at the Royals Stadium Club (where I have worked for the past seven seasons) and was offered a job working in his office. After being there for two and a half years, I was very thankful that I had not gone into the medical field. On the upside, I did get free lasik out of the deal!

Last December, I got hired at Fox 4 as a production assistant and I absolutely LOVE my job. The only bad thing is that I have to wake up at 3 a.m. and go to bed at 6 p.m. There goes my night life.

Right now I am working hard to finish my thesis so that I can graduate in May and at the same time I am busy planning my wedding in September.  But I like being busy so it’s been kind of fun.

Some of my likes include reading US Weekly, taking my dogs for walks, going to the lake, and watching the Royals.

My dislikes include winter, driving long distances, Paris Hilton, and not getting enough sleep.

I absolutely love to travel and I just booked my first cruise for our honeymoon. I have been to Italy, Ireland, England, Canada, Mexico, and I lived in Australia for six months when I studied abroad one semester. I have been to 40 states and I hope to visit them all before I turn 30.

I am Catholic and recently gave up sweets for Lent so it was very hard for me to turn down the chocolate and cookies last week. I attended Catholic schools from kindergarten all the way through my senior year of college at Marquette. I even met my fiancee Tim in grade school when I was five years old.

And even though I aspire to be on television someday (I was on the Price is Right a few years ago and won a fridge) I sometimes get shy and kind of nervous when I have to talk to a group of people. So when I present in class next week, feel free to smile at me!

Lindsay

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I just visited a friend at Marquette this fall, en route to Halloween in Madison. The Milwaukee art museum is the most amazing piece of architecture EVER!

Comment by genghiskuhn

[…] J500/ES624 Media & The Environment wrote an interesting post today on About Me: Lindsay CrupperHere’s a quick excerptMy dislikes include winter, driving long distances, Paris Hilton, and not getting enough s leep…. […]

Pingback by Paris Hilton » About Me: Lindsay Crupper




Leave a Reply

