J500 Media and the Environment


About Me: Vince Meserko by vincemeserko
February 18, 2008, 11:18 pm
Filed under: Society + Media

Well, I’ll start by giving a brief biography of myself. I’m a little bit older than most in this class. I’m *cough* 29 and have two kids, Bronson and Tyler (ages 10 and 12 respectively). My ex-wife Lydia lives in Boston with Bronson and Tyler. I miss them (and my beloved Red Sox!) but I’m adjusting to Kansas (and the Royals) well. After graduating from high school in Oregon and moving with Lydia to Boston, I became interested in environmental justice (and subsequently animal liberation efforts) after I noticed our local park’s bird feeder was inadquately serving the park’s burgeoning meadowlark population. The finches and the hornbills were gobblin’ up the good stuff leaving the meadowlark to scrounge around in the grass for crickets. After an intense letter writing campaign and phone calls to the parks and recreation department we finally got justice for the meadowlark. I’ve since dedicated my life to local and regional bird conservation efforts. This led me to a realization I still hold dearly. With a little sweat, tears (and bird seed!) anyone can fight the corporations … and win. As for my free time activities, I enjoy playing (semi)-competitive tetherball with my friends Otis and Desmond. We just got involved in a recreation league here in Lawrence. We call our team “The Ball and Chain Gang.”

As for my musical tastes, well, we’ll just say they are diverse. I like everything from late period Bee Gees to early Dave Mustaine-era Metallica. I’m also working on some of my own music. Well, I hope you’ve enjoyed reading my bio.

Ok, I made all that up. I just wanted to see if anyone would actually read this far. My real life is pretty pedestrian. I’m 22 and I grew up in Overland Park, Kansas. One time when I was 15 I got the 10 and under menu at Denny’s. I’ll graduate in May with a degree in journalism: strategic communications. I love strategic communications. It fascinates the crap out of me. I’m a huge fan of Douglas Rushkoff. He’s a brilliant dude and one of the foremost thinkers on media, strategic communications, cyberculture and dozens of other things. His newest book “Get Back in the Box” is one of the best things I’ve ever read. I also realized I never ever want to do this strat. comm. stuff as a career. It’s a terrible fit. For one thing, I’m not very skilled at conversation. Especially phone conversation. Leave it me to me to pick a major I love studying for purely academic reasons that I have no interest in applying to my post-college life. This is why I’m set on going to graduate school. Either that or I’m pretty sure there’s an opening at the KFC on 23rd street. It is my strategic communication work, however, that got me interested in this class because of the project with CReSIS last semester. The CReSIS project was alternately infuriating and enlightening and got me interested. This class is great. I learn a lot just by listening. You all know so much, and I don’t know that much so I do posts about facial hair. In my free time I am a DJ at KJHK 90.7 FM, the radio station here at KU. I do a blues/soul/funk show called The Jookhouse on Sunday mornings from 10-Noon. I’ve gotten to interview some vaguely famous musicians over the past year which has been a huge thrill. Sometimes they stay at my house during the Wakarusa Festival. The Jookhouse is probably the lowest rated show on KJHK so call in requests to make me feel like I have a huge audience. I am also the station’s Development Director. For the past couple of years I have been a contributing writer for CHALK Magazine. The magazine’s editor has a fascination with psychoanalyzing me so the last few stories I’ve written involve me going to psychics and getting tarot card readings and stuff. Here are some favorites:

Comedians: George Carlin, Bill Hicks, Doug Stanhope, Jim Gaffigan, Steven Wright

Music: Bob Dylan, Todd Snider, MOFRO, Wilco, The Mother Hips, Toots & the Maytals, old soul music, Hound Dog Taylor, BB King, blues, folk and alt-country. Thelonius Monk and John Coltrane.

Books: Anything by Jack Kerouac and Chuck Klosterman. A Confederacy of Dunces, A Fan’s Notes, and this one book my mom used to read to me about a kid who eats too many pancakes (I can’t remember the name).

Thanks. Look forward to getting to know everyone better.

-Vince Meserko

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Wow, you had me going for a second. I was about to challenge you to a tetherball match (I haven’t played since, oh, sixth grade.) Thanks for ruining it. 🙂

Kim

Comment by kimwallace

I invite all birders I find on the internet to visit the Ivory-billed Woodpecker Foundation’s Update Blog, just in case they are interested: ibwfound.blogspot.com

Comment by Norma

How could you leave Bronson and Tyler standing, alone in a world that’s so cold?

Meanwhile, as a fellow blues aficionado, I see several connections between the genre and environmentalism: you have your Muddy Waters (no doubt a result of soil erosion): a Howlin’ (endangered) Wolf; (Renewable) Lightnin’ Hopkins…it’s pretty obvious, really.

I’ll definitely check out your show–you’ll wish you never asked for requests!

Also, Bill Hicks was a genius.

–Ranjit

Comment by rarab




Leave a Reply

