J500 Media and the Environment


Listen to Arnold by lindsaycr
February 12, 2008, 4:01 pm
Filed under: Society + Media

schwarzeneggerI agree with what Arnold Schwarzenegger said about trying to make the environmental movement sexy. People like to do what is popular and being green is turning into a popular trend. We see celebrities driving hybrid cars and we want to do the same. (See celebs here).

I think that the problem is, at least with myself anyways, sometimes I am too lazy and/or broke. I know that I should separate my trash to be recycled, but it is so much easier to just throw it in the trash. And I would always love to carry my resuable water bottle around with me, but some mornings I forget, and then I buy a cheap bottle at the covenience store which I throw away when I’m done.

Recently, I had to replace a couple of light bulbs in my house and when I went to the store, I fully intended on purchasing the energy efficient ones. However, I was a little shocked at the difference in price, which was almost three times as expensive. Granted, the energy efficient bulbs would last much longer and I would save money in the end. However, being a broke college student, I just didn’t have the money to invest in the pricer bulb.

But back to what I was talking about earlier, environmentalism needs to be sexier and more economically sound. If those two things happen, I think the movement can spread faster than a California wild fire (that was the best joke I could come up with unfortunately).

Lindsay Crupper

4 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Lindsay, dig deeper – what more could be done to engage you? If you have a free reusable water bottle and you still don’t use it, could a sexy image help? Why or why not?

Simran Sethi

Comment by j500

This is what I’m interested in the environmental movement. What would make broke college students (or anyone, really) more interested in preserving the environment? There are so many economic incentives, like getting money from the aluminum you recycle or not buying water from a plastic bottle because you already pay for water from the tap at home.

I know it’s just hard to see the monetary benefits in the short-term sometimes, but they really do add up.

Like Simran asked, what would engage you? Because I think the answer to this could also be the answer to engage the rest of the general public or those hesitant to become green.

Lauren Keith

Comment by laurenkeith

I agree with what you said about needing an incentive to help the environment. However, it is hard to feel that the five cents you get back from recycling a can is really worth the time and effort.

I disagree with what other students are saying about needing sex to sell the environment. It may work for certain products, like beer or cars, but the environment is a very different category.

I feel that the most important way to get people involved with the environment is to give them incentives, but make sure they are good incentives. What that is, I’m not sure, but I think that the answer to that question is the key to getting people involved with the environment.

Lindsay C

Comment by Lindsay

Lindsay—
I understand where you are coming from. Unfortunately, I rarely find the time to recycle in Lawrence. Back home, there was a blue bin, curbside recycling program that made going green easy—you set your recycling on the street and the recycling person came, just like the trash person did. I’d suggest hitting the green movement in steps. Also, can you think back to any fad or movement that you got sucked into? $150 designer denim? Black nail polish? Blue eyeshadow (barf)? How did it get you? What was the appeal? Let’s take that strategy and see how we can apply it to green without over-marketing it.

Kim W

Comment by kimwallace




Leave a Reply

