J500 Media and the Environment


A car free world by lindsaycr
February 5, 2008, 4:15 pm
Filed under: Business + Politics, Cars + Transport, Society + Media

I agree with Michael Shellenberger and Ted Nordhaus when they said “environmentalism can no longer rely on a negative, complaint-based style of activism that fails to engage with the public.” http://adbusters.org/blogs/Big_Ideas_The_Death_of_Environmentalism.html Being negative is not going to help. That is just going to make people feel bad about the ways they are living their lives or angry that someone is telling them they have to change.

Environmentalism needs to take another approach and I feel that is what those guys are advocating. For example, in the article “the world car free” http://adbusters.org/blogs/World_Carfree_Day_2007.html, it really opened my eyes becuase I was never aware that this day even existed.

I had heard of the day when everyone is supposed to boycott the gas stations, but this is even better! How cool would it be if there was no traffic because everyone was riding public transportation? My bank account would defintiely love me because my car is by far my biggest expense.

When I think back to when I first filled up my tank, it cost $15 and that was only 8 years ago. Now I’m lucky if I can fill up under $30!

What makes the “world car free” even better is that it is a global event and that we as a global community have realized that we need to work together to get this problem solved. It can’t just be one country and not the other because then our work would be in vain. Hopefully we can all get on the same page about this!

Lindsay

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Lindsay, what are the biggest barriers to having a car-free day in Lawrence? What would it take to make it happen?

Simran Sethi

Comment by j500

The biggest barriers, I think, would be those who commute long distances to and from Lawrence. I personally commute twice a week from KC to Lawrence because I work until 1 p.m. and I have to be in class by 2:30. I used to take the bus last semester and it was great! I was able to sleep and best of all, I saved tons of money.

I think that it would be very realistic if students that lived in Lawrence would take public transportation to school everyday. First of all, the town is not that big so it wouldn’t be that big of a trip. Also, if the bus focused on students, they would all be going to the same place (campus) and that would make trips shorter. I think a city like Kansas City would have a difficult time making a car-free day work, but in Lawrence, I think it could be a definite possibility.

Lindsay C

Comment by lindsaycr




Leave a Reply

