J500 Media and the Environment


Recycling? “What rubbish!” by denzylj
January 21, 2008, 11:07 pm
Filed under: Waste + Recycling

So might the thinking be if you’re jobless and wondered where your next meal was going to come from, let alone be pre-occupied by sorting your bottles from your aluminum cans, unless there was some monetary incentive to do so. But living a fairly comfortable existence is no excuse not to aspire to a sustainable lifestyle. Criminal too, to scoff at the predictions of environmental doomsayers. My feeble attempt – cycling and using public transport, as opposed to owning a car, make for an impressive mobility count on the Ecological Footprint Quiz, but amount to precious little in terms of limiting overall biocapacity. I used to recycle, but my former roommates paid scant attention to such considerations – beer cans, bottles, plastic and newspaper were all the same – just trash. Now, I’ve become lazy, my one excuse being that ferrying bags of separated refuse over my shoulders and handlebars, just isn’t conducive to safe riding, not least of all the damage to my tyres pride. Maybe if I had one of these trash hauling bicycles used in some major cities of the world, I could convince myself that as de rigueur as recycling has become, I’d forgo the aesthetic appeal in favor of something utterly unfashionable, yet practical. It’s cold comfort that my footprint is half the national average, and the fact that it would take nearly three planets to maintain my livelihood elicits a knee-jerk response that makes me question the efficacy of the quiz. Still, it’s cause for concern and just like my bike recoils at the prospect of summiting Mount Oread, this whole re(cycling) thing, has become just one, big uphill battle.

-Denzyl



A world apart by kimwallace
January 21, 2008, 10:53 pm
Filed under: Cars + Transport, Society + Media | Tags: , ,

After coming back from a two-week stint in New York City, I decided it would be interesting to measure my footprint while living there versus my footprint while living in Lawrence. This quiz proved to me what I already knew: NYC and Lawrence are a world apart.

My NYC ecological footprint was 10 acres, or 2.3 planets. I lived in a city with more than a million people and a very reliable public transportation system and walked for miles on end. I shared a small apartment with four other girls, and consumed much less than the people around me. After all, I was on a budget.

Back home in Lawrence, though, my life is different. My ecological footprint is 15 acres, or 3.3 planets. A world apart. This does not surprise me. I commute 180 miles to work every week—but I do carpool and drive a decent, fuel-efficient car. The west side of the city has fallen victim to sprawl, so I can’t reasonably walk anywhere without ending up in a cul-de-sac or busy Clinton Parkway. I share a 1,000 square-feet apartment with one roommate—but we use CFLs and keep our thermostat as low as possible. After all, we are on tight college student budgets.

So, how can tight-pocketed college students green their lifestyles in a city that is not built on a grid and in a city without efficient public transportation? It’s the small steps, I think. Sure, I may live a little more lavishly at home than I would ever be able to in the Big Apple, but the little things that I pay attention to—energy conservation and fuel efficiency—help offset the way I live here. After all, in the city, I was living in an old brownstone with drafty windows and doors, conventional lighting and more trash than I knew what to do with. I expected my “number” to be lot higher than it turned out to be, but I wish there was a way to lower it in Lawrence without losing the leisure of motor transportation.

-Kim



How many carbon offsets does it take to buy 5 planets? by jseverin
January 21, 2008, 10:05 pm
Filed under: Society + Media

With so much attention on global climate change these days, I’ve gotten in the habit of measuring environmental impact in terms of greenhouse gas (GHG) emissions, especially carbon dioxide (CO2). Carbon calculators, such as the one found on the website for “An Inconvenient Truth”, help us measure our personal contributions to global climate change. While these calculators give us a nice number to work with, I find it difficult to visualize my impact by calculating GHG emissions. What does it really mean if I contribute 6.95 tons of CO2 to the atmosphere every year? And can’t I just buy a carbon offset to make it all go away?

A campaign in Australia has made the concept a little easier to visualize by representing emissions with black balloons. Their advertisements show balloons inflating and floating away from home appliances and light fixtures, noting that the average home creates over 200,000 balloons full of GHGs every year. This doesn’t quite work for me either, as one of my middle school teachers taught me long ago that releasing balloons wasn’t good for the environment. After all, they eventually float back down and end up littering a park in the Rockies or choking some unfortunate sea bird off the coast of Florida.

Balloons aside, carbon calculators tend to focus more on personal transportation and home energy use and less on everything else we do in our daily lives. Sure we are producing more GHGs than we need to, but as consumers we are also using up valuable resources and discarding them as waste. And even though the trash I put out on Wednesday mornings is about a forth of what my neighbor sets out, I know that I’m using and wasting more than my share. The ecological footprint quiz helps put that in perspective in a way that makes sense. We have one planet, and I need almost 5. No amount of carbon offsets in the world can make up that difference.

By the way, there is another calculator on American Public Media’s website that is based on the ecological footprint quiz . It provides some useful statistics and tips along the way to explain more specifically the impacts our individual actions. I think this is just as important because gives me a starting point to work on whittling down and getting closer to that 1 planet footprint that I have in reality. Plus you get to pick an avatar and watch your planets add up as you answer questions – so it makes getting the bad news about over consumption at least a little more fun. And you don’t have to feel guilty about where all those little black balloons are going to end up.

– Jeff



Feet Fi Fo Fum by julianat
January 21, 2008, 9:56 pm
Filed under: Society + Media

… I smell the blood of guilt conscious environmentalists !

In order to sustain my lifestyle, we would need 1.6 more of earth than we already have, my acreage being 12, half of what is “an average American lifestyle”. I am neither appalled, surprised, nor proud.

What does this mean? These numbers don’t have much weight or meaning to me because the validity of the quiz is uncertain to me. The questions are vague with a double-edged sword . If i don’t use public transportation, does that imply that I use my car instead, when in reality I bike or walk most places?

I remember taking this quiz about 5 years ago in high school, and upon taking this quiz then I was surprised, I was average. This was one of the few things that encouraged me to become more knowledgeable in environmentalism and pursue an eco-friendly lifestyle. At the time I felt that I had no control over my lifestyle, and things would change once I was on my own.

Admittedly, I was (and still am) always looking for the future for change, I figured it was something I would get to eventually, living a more eco-friendly lifestyle and taking action in trying to change the way things are.

Even though, my “footprint” is substantially less than what it was when I was in high school, it is still not enough, I feel there will always be room for improvement in my life to become more eco-friendly. I don’t do anymore than what is common sense to me, I bike or walk, I cook fresh organic food as much as my pocket can afford, and I maintain the triple R’s (reduce, reuse, recycle). This is my lifestyle, and for some people these little lifestyle changes would be terribly difficult to adapt to, but to me it’s definitely not enough.

It makes me wonder, no matter how much we change our lifestyle, even if we all become “uber environmentally hip” and all change our incandescents to CFL’s and wear recycled belts, will it ever be enough to save the world? Will it be enough to cut through the BS?

I am optimistic enough to say that it will, through necessity and eventuality .

-Juliana



Open Quiz, Insert Foot by Lauren Keith


Photo by Danarah, flickr.com

I had no idea how big 10 acres is. I looked it up and came up with about 7.5 football fields. I’m still not sure if I quite comprehend that measurement.

That’s a lot of football.

I feel like the ultimate hypocrite. I write a column for a student magazine (sorry, couldn’t resist) about how to live a greener lifestyle, but two Earths couldn’t even handle a population of people like me.

I had a feeling of déjà vu while taking this quiz, and I found another that I took months ago. The quiz by The Nature Conservancy is slightly different in that it only calculates your carbon footprint instead of your entire ecological footprint, but it made me feel slightly better about being a vegetarian (21 days!) and making recycling cans for everyone who even remotely comes in contact with me.

Of course, I can’t feel too great about myself because I’m still not a full-fledged vegetarian. I’ve allowed myself to eat seafood until February to wean myself off. I chose seafood because of all the meats, I eat the least of it, but that may not matter when I’m still contributing to the immanent collapse of fisheries within a few decades.

I hope people are shocked and maybe even appalled by their quiz results. But as for the general population, I’m not sure any of them would care much. Twenty acres, so what? This is the ME Generation, referring to both millennials and self-absorbed millennials. This is why some people can’t get in touch with environmentalism: How does this directly affect ME?

With this big of a footprint, I should kick my own ass.

—Lauren Keith

Submit to:

add to del.icio.us : Add to Blinkslist : add to furl : Digg it : add to ma.gnolia : Stumble It! : add to simpy : seed the vine : : : TailRank : post to facebook



Putting my foot in my mouth by travisjbrown
January 21, 2008, 6:31 pm
Filed under: Society + Media

18 acres. I have to say my footprint surprised me. I thought surely I was average if not over. But I was more surprised by the distribution of what affects my print I guess I was expecting my gas-guzzling SUV to have a larger toll on my print. That’s always where I have felt the most eco-guilt. I inherited a behemoth of a Ford Bronco and have driven it in shame ever since. It seems as if my guilt should be lying elsewhere. Actually only 1.7 of my 18 acres where attributed to my “mobility.” I, like others in the class, also feel that my household is extremely wasteful (mostly because of my environmentally dense roommates). “Shelter” still fell behind “food” and “goods/services.” These are two factors that I rarely consider.

I usually go to the grocery store when I’m starving and end up overshopping. Then, when I realize that much of my food has expired or rotted away, I starve myself again until I find the time to go to the grocery store and the cycle continues. This has always habit has always frustrated me, but only because uneaten food means wasted money. I have never once thought about how it was affecting the environment.

I’m glad I took this quiz. While I do feel that it could be more thorough and therefore more accurate, it has changed my perspective. I will be a much more contentious shopper from now on. This extra consideration will help lessen my footprint and save me some money.

-Travis Brown



A Meaty Debate by jkongs
January 21, 2008, 4:07 pm
Filed under: Food + Health

Let me begin with a quick note to the vegetarians reading this blog: I do not mean to offend, but it is highly possible. Next, let me say I found the ecological footprint quiz’s assumption that real environmentalists are also vegetarians incredibly frustrating. (True environmentalists must also attend music camping festivals and have a wardrobe containing a minimum of five well-worn tie-dyed shirts, right?) The first time I took the quiz, I answered the first question about my habits of meat consumption honestly – often, a few times a week – and then took the quiz a second time, leaving all my answers the same except for my first response – never, vegan. My results included a significantly smaller shoe size, and my lifestyle would require half a world less for everyone to live like me than before.

The truth is eating meat can actually be better for the environment than a diet that eliminates animal products. Commercial crops, such as corn, wheat, and soybeans, are typically grown in vast monocultures, requiring the use of petroleum-based fertilizers, irrigation, and farm equipment that run on oil. This style of conventional agriculture has caused phenomenal topsoil erosion, and has helped to create unhealthy waterways – including a large Dead Zone in the Gulf of Mexico from farm waste runoff carried by the Mississippi River.

The typical arguments against meat assume we are talking about factory-raised meats, fed antibiotic- and hormone-laced corn, stuffed into a three by three foot space, and slaughtered inhumanely at a premature age. Free-range and grass fed meats, however, allow for areas of land unsuitable for agriculture to be productive. Also, properly rotated animals can actually graze land into more optimal conditions, allowing for an increased biodiversity of species in the area.

I am definitely not arguing that people should all adopt the Atkins’ Diet and eliminate grains and vegetables from their palette. Confined Animal Feeding Operations (CAFOs) are devastating to the environment, resulting in toxic runoff and air pollution on astronomical levels, not to mention fatty, unhealthy meat. I am also not passing judgment on the vegetarian lifestyle, just on the presumption that doing so is the only environmentally-friendly choice.

Jennifer Kongs



Hey, I put some new shoes on and suddenly everything’s right. by denah
January 21, 2008, 3:49 pm
Filed under: Society + Media

My initial reaction to the Ecological Footprints Quiz went something like this…My overall score of 18 made me feel confident in my efforts towards being a “wanna be” enviornmentalist. Considering the average in America was a score of 24, I felt good. I knew that there were still some lifestyle choices (such as eating lots of meat and traveling by airplane often to get to my home in Chicago) that would alter my overall consumption. I continued down the page to find that if I continued with the lifestyle I am living now (easing my way into being a conscious consumer), there would need to be 4.1 worlds. That is when my smile turned upside down. I was disappointed to think that my efforts were not good enough, even though I was putting in so much more effort than my family and friends. I realized that there is more than one way of looking at this situation.

I started to think about how much people like me (some enviornmentalist, some carnviore/travel junky) were really impacting the world. I am starting to realize that my efforts alone are not going to make this world stronger, but that it is necessary to seek that collective and corporate action out there that could impact and influence others.

On the contrary, I believe that my efforts are a lot more apparent living in Lawrence as opposed to living in Chicago (where I am from.) I can definitely say for myself that I drive everywhere at home and tend to be a lot less aware of my everyday decisions regarding the enviornment. That only proves that being with others who are enviornmentally friendly only makes me want to be more like that as well. It shows that collective action is whats going to influence our nation and the world.

As I think about my efforts compared to those around me, I think one of the biggest problems we have is awareness and just an overall understanding of what is happening to our planet. Words like global warming and sustainability are not understood by many around our nation and our world.

Dena Hart



I am the Winner! by acbowman
January 21, 2008, 12:32 pm
Filed under: Society + Media | Tags: , ,

I was surprised to see that my score was so incredibly high. According to the test, it takes a ginormous 36 acres to support my lifestyle. If everyone lived like me, it would take 8.2 earths to meet our living wants. At first I felt really bad, then I saw the “Donate Now” button and began questioning the quiz.

There needed to be definitions of certain terms used in the quiz. For example, what constitutes processed and packaged foods? Is pasta processed?

It says my goods and services take up 14.3 acres to support. But I only answered one question to determine this, how much my garbage compares to my neighbors. It doesn’t account for recycling, or type of garbage. Some is biodegradable, some clearly is not. When reading through their explanation of how they came up with these figures, they sort of glazed over the details.

The quiz also estimated that it takes 4.5 acres per person to live a sustainable life. If you multiply the 4.5 acres by the population of Lawrence , 90,000. You get 405,000 acres. That is 692 square miles. This is far more than the 200 mile radius that is considered local for food production. It is physically impossible for the city of Lawrence to eat locally by their estimates.

In the U.S. there were roughly 281 million people in 2000. Using the same math, it would take 19,757,812 square miles to feed the U.S. population. However the U.S. has an area of only 3.79 million square miles. According to the quiz, the U.S. can’t exist sustainably on it’s own. This means importing goods, this of course takes more pollution and consumption to get the goods here.

After taking the quiz, I clicked on “Donate Now” to see what I would be donating money too. I found that the money would go to the Earth Day Network that promotes environmental and sustainable practices in various outlets. The Web site states, “We pursue these goals through education, politics, events, and consumer activism.” I was struck by the consumer activism portion of the mission statement. As I found out through calculating the numbers, consumer activism is only going to get us so far.

There needs to be some corporate activism. We can’t restructure how society works. Steps can be taken to reduce our footprints, but we are ultimately going to have to rely on new technologies for cleaner renewable energy. We also need corporations to adopt these technologies as they become available, and then offer their services to the consumer at reasonable rates making it convenient and available to everyone. Not only to create a greener planet, but also to remain a competitive company in the years to come.

Adam